INTERNATIONAL FUND FOR

CHINA’S ENVIRONMENT

项目介绍


【IFCE每周全球环境新闻】6.1-6.8

发行时间:2018-06-18


1. 中国地图应用程序鼓励低碳出行



高德地图作为中国的主要地图导航之一,在星期二推出了环境地图服务,为用户实时提供包括空气和水质指标以及工厂排污记录等环境信息。当中国用户打开高德地图的导航应用程序时,他们不仅可以使用其地图导航服务,还可以通过查看环境信息选择最环保的目的地。

“这项新服务旨在鼓励人们更多地意识到环境问题,并参与到环境保护以及建立一个美丽的中国的行动中来。”中国电子商务巨头阿里巴巴集团副总裁孙利军表示。用户可以通过在应用程序中选择“环境地图”来访问该项服务。如果用户选择公共交通、步行或者自行车作为他们的交通工具,应用程序会自动记录这些低碳行程的距离。

这项服务将为累计使用低碳旅行方式的用户积分,并将积分转换为慈善项目,如在贫困山区搭建桥梁,为中国扶贫项目作出贡献。(来源:新华网)


2. 中国为印度在治理水污染方面做出表率




根据联合国环境规划署执行主任埃里克索尔海姆(Erik Solheim)的说法,中国作为世界上最大的污染国,给印度在遏制水污染方面起到了表率作用。

“五年前,这个国家有着世界上污染最严重的河流,但它们现在很干净。“索尔海姆在接受彭博报的采访时表示。他说,中国已经发展了一些技术来管理密闭区域的废物,并开辟了河流、湖泊和湿地来防止污染。

根据中央污染控制委员会的统计,过去的五年里,印度的污染河流数量已经从121个增加到了275个。中央污染控制委员会2015年1月份的评估报告记录了2008年至2012年期间倾倒工业废水最多的河段。据统计,印度城市每天产生超过1万5千吨的塑料垃圾。(来源:《彭博刊》)


3. 中国城市被贴上污染治理失败的黑色标签





在中国政府提名治理地区政府的环境违法行为的持续过程中,中国环境部因未能解决严重的污染问题批评了三座城市的高级官员。国家主席的直接参与已经将环境问题转化为政治忠诚问题,使各地区在遵守严格的新规和标准上承受更大的压力。但是尽管靠近首都北京的发达东部地区政府一直在争相达到甚至超过所设立的环境目标,很多其它省份却在环境污染治理上远远落后。

4月份,环境部举行了第一次环境问题的批斗大会。大会召集了北部三个城市的市长,要求他们解释去年冬天镇压雾霾天气的失职。中国雾霾最严重的河北省上个月表示,去年曾因未能合理控制空气污染而开除或谴责了十多名官员。

(来源:《中国南方早报》)



4.  共和党批评环境组织在中国的气候工作





众议院自然资源委员会主席和高级成员致函自然资源保护委员会,建议环境组织注册称为中国的外国代理人,并针对其在中国的气候和环境活动方面符合中国利益发表公开声明。


自然资源保护委员会多年来在中国工作,敦促政府放慢煤炭使用增长速度,提高建筑效率,跟踪和限制汞排放,清理中国港口的柴油泄漏,并帮助制定环境法律。

“委员会对自然资源保护委员会在帮助中国治理污染方面的管理工作以及在其在环境问题上的国际地位方面的作用感到担忧,这种方式可能对美国不理。”信中说道,“因为可能会让美国面临外国利益影响或威胁的风险,自然资源保护委员会与中国的关系中必须遵循由美国情报机构和执法部门确立的标准。”

(来源:《华盛顿邮报》)


5. 特朗普退出巴黎气候协议一年的环境影响






一年前,特朗普总统宣布美国将成为第一个,也可能是唯一一个加入但随即又退出巴黎气候变化协议的国家。特朗普戏剧化的决定和举动在当时引起了极大的争议。尽管特朗普政府竭尽全力维系环保,该国的温室气体总排放量的轨迹几乎没有发生变化。

特朗普政府在退出巴黎气候变化协议以来,在很大程度上无法统一关于气候变化的言论。相反,从环境保护局局长斯科特普鲁特特(Scott Pruitt)对气候变化的怀疑到美国宇航局管理员吉姆布兰登斯汀(Jim Bridenstine)接受气候科学一说,特朗普政府充斥着各种矛盾的声音。

同样,尽管政府制定了一系列遏制气候变化的政策,如“清洁电力计划”,并在各州和环保组织中开展了一系列监管尝试,但他们并不能表明这类政策的可持续性。因此,继续惩治煤炭的使用和促进可再生能源与天然气市场的趋势仍然是美国能源形势的主要驱动因素。(来源:《华盛顿邮报》)



6.  气候适应措施(Climate-ADAPT)成为欧洲适应气候变化的关键工具




根据欧洲环境局(EEA)今天发布的报告显示,欧盟委员会气候适应措施的在线知识中心的用户总量自2012年推出以来增长了五倍。该评估证实了这个网络平台对于决策者、城市规划者和其他正在寻求分享和利用适应气候变化信息和最佳实践方法的专家所带来

的价值越来越高。

欧洲环境局在“全欧洲气候适应信息”的报告中表明,通过改进其适用范围,尤其是东欧和中欧的用户以及适应经验不足的用户,可以大大增加平台的实用性。越来越多的国家正在从制定适应战略转向实施行动计划,这个过程需要例如政策和行动进展的有效指标等其它辅助信息,气候适应措施平台可以协助为用户提供这类领域的信息。

该项评估结果将被纳入欧盟委员会对目前正在进行的欧盟气候适应战略的评估。它将有助于欧盟委员会和欧洲环境局更新平台的工作,确保其满足各国、欧洲地区和全球层面不断变化的政策和信息需求。(来源:欧洲环境署)





7. 英国政府承诺脱欧后为农业创造利益



在欧盟补贴撤销后,国会议员要求部长们保留纳税人的农业资金。英国环境部长坚称,政府将采取措施确保农场能在英国脱欧后继续盈利。

迈克尔戈夫(Michael Gove)说,粮食生产是英国农业的核心。他对全党议会环境组织说:“在没有充足的粮食生产的情况下, 英国农村不能保证并维持我们所看中的一切。所以我们需要在粮食生产与环境保护上寻求平衡。”他在环境、食品和农业事物部与农业核心部门上的坚持将受到近年来生产力下降的农民的欢迎,也同时为他之前强调农业环境责任的言论感到担忧。

环境、食品和农村事务委员会在周三公布的一份报告中发现,英国脱欧后政府的农业计划迄今为止仍是模糊的,并要求其进一步详细说明脱欧后农民可获得的具体资金。目前,英国农民每年从欧盟获得30亿英镑的补贴。(来源:《卫报》)


8. 世界环境日:被塑料掩埋的世界



联合国在星期二的一份针对世界环境日的报告中称,废塑料是这个星球面临的最大环境威胁之一。

联合国报告“一次性塑料:可持续发展路线图”中显示,限制塑料袋的使用已在摩洛哥、卢旺达和中国的部分地区取得不错的效益。然而在其它地区,该项进展并不顺利,需要采取其它紧急行动。这份报告指出,据估计全国每年塑料袋的使用量多达5万亿。

联合国秘书长安东尼奥·古特雷斯(Antonio Guterres)在一次演讲中说:“我们的世界已经被有害的废弃塑料所淹没。”海洋中的微塑料现在已经超过了我们所在银河系星星的数量。“如果照目前的趋势下去,到2050年我们的海洋里的塑料将比鱼还多。”

根据联合国环境规划署的统计,全球每年有800万吨塑料被倾倒入海中,造成海洋生物死亡并侵入人类食物链。(来源:半岛电视台AlJazeera)


9. 澳大利亚政党对干旱气候对农民的“伤害”作出评论



澳大利亚农民不满其国家政党通过将澳大利亚东部受旱灾地区归因于气候变化而被政治化。身为农民与前国民党领袖的约翰安德森(John Anderson)表示,尽管这次干旱是他所经历过最糟糕的一次,但它并不是史无前例的。

澳大利亚东南部今年气温一场干燥炎热,达到了创纪录的高温,出发了当局的消防禁令和警告。从最新的冬季气候报告中显示,气象局预测澳大利亚东南部地区将笔该国大部分地区的平均气候状况要炎热和干燥。

“气候变化正在使天气变得更加极端与不可预测,并且对澳大利亚的农业生产造成了较为严重的影响,”气候委员会研究主任兼代理首席执行官马丁赖斯(Martin Rice)说。赖斯说,新南威尔士州北部地区的平均情况和热浪情况比其它地区较热,导致其气候状况变得更加干燥,这是联邦级气候政策中的“严重失败”。(来源:《卫报》)


10.  资源竞争和气候变化阻碍苏丹和平发展



世界环境日发起的南苏丹环境状况和展望总结报告是对南苏丹环境状况的首次审查。报告指出,南苏丹持续发生的冲突将继续阻碍其持续性管理和开发自然资源的能力,并将威胁到医考国家自然资源的1000多万人的生计。

“南苏丹的战争非常可怕,给平民生活带来了非常高的成本。”联合国环境部负责人艾里克索尔海姆(Erik Solheim)说。”这份报告表明,合理的南苏丹资源管理能够让所有人受益,并使该国重新走上和平道路。”

如果可以持续管理,南苏丹的自然资源 - 如森林、石油、水和矿物 - 可以为该国带来巨大的经济机遇。该报告确定了几项重要的政策建议,这些建议将促进小国家的农业、渔业和工业发展来保护其生态系统并创造收入;监理保护和可持续利用自然资源的机制;并发展气候适应性社区。













©2017 The International Fund for China’s Environment All Rights Reserved.

2421 Pennsylvania Ave.NW Washington,DC 20037-1718 USA

TeL 202-822-2141 Email: ifce.adm@gmail.com

INTERNATIONAL FUND FOR

CHINA’S ENVIRONMENT

PROGRAMS


IFCE Global Environmental Weekly Events [6/1 - 6/8/2018]

Release time:2018-06-18

1. Chinese Mapping App Provides Environmental Information, Encourages Low-Carbon Travel


Amap, one of the major mapping and navigation platforms in China, launched an environmental mapping service on its app on Tuesday, providing users with real-time environmental information, including air and water quality indexes and factory sewage records.

When users in China open the Amap navigation app, they can now not only make use of its mapping service, but also view environmental information and choose to go to the most environmentally-friendly destinations.

“The new service aims to encourage people to be more aware of environmental issues and take part in environmental protection to build a Beautiful China,” said Sub Lijun, Vice President of Alibaba group, China’s e-commerce giant. Users can access the service by selecting “environment map” in the app. If users choose public transport, walking or cycling as their mode of transportation, the app will automatically record the distance of these low-carbon trips.

It will accumulate points for users who use low-carbon means of travel, and will convert these points to charity programs, such as building bridges in impoverished mountainous areas to make contributions to China’s poverty alleviation programs, according to Liu.

Source: Xinhua Net


2.  China Can Give India Lessons On Curbing Water Pollution, Says UN Environment Head Erik Solheim




China, the world’s biggest polluter, can give India a lesson on curbing water pollution, according to Erik Solheim, executive director at the United Nations Environment Programme.

“Five years ago, the country had some of the worst polluted rivers in the world, but now they are clean,” Solheim told bloombergQuint in an interview. It has evolved techniques to manage waste in confined areas and has opened rivers, lakes and wetlands to prevent contamination, he said.

According to Central Pollution Control Board, the number of polluted rivers in India has risen to 275 from 121 over the last five years. The state recorded the highest number of river stretches where industrial effluents were being dumped between 2008 and 2012. Indian cities generated over 15,000 tonnes of plastic waste every day, a January 2015 assessment report of the Central Pollution Control Board said.

Source: Bloomberg




3. More Chinese Cities Get Black Marks for Pollution Failures





China’s environment ministry has criticised senior officials from three cities for failing to fix serious pollution problems, in Beijing’s latest attempt to name and shame regional governments for persistent environmental violations.

The president’s direct involvement has turned environmental compliance into a matter of political loyalty, putting regions under even more pressure to comply with tough new rules and standards. But while some provinces have been racing to meet or even exceed their targets, especially in developed eastern regions close to the capital Beijing, others have fallen behind.

In April, the ministry held the first of its name-and-shame meetings, summoning mayors from three northern cities to account for their failings during last winter’s crackdown on smog. The country’s smoggiest province of Hebei, which surrounds Beijing, said last month that it had fired and reprimanded more than a dozen officials for failing to control air pollution last year.

Source: South China Morning Post



4.  House Republicans Attack Environmental Group Over Its Climate Work in China


The chairman and a senior member of the House Natural Resources Committee have written a letter to the Natural Resources Defense Council suggesting that the environmental organization register as a foreign agent because of its climate and environment activities in China and public statements the lawmakers alleged served China’s interests.

The NRDC has worked for years in China urging the government to slow the growth of coal use, improve building efficiency, track and limit mercury emissions, clean up diesel leaks in Chinese ports and help develop environmental laws.

“The Committee is concerned about NRDC’s role in aiding China’s perception management efforts with respect to pollution control and its international standing on environmental issues in a way that may be detrimental to the United States,” the letter said. “The NRDC’s relationship with China has many of the criteria identified by U.S. intelligence agencies and law enforcement as putting an entity at risk of being influenced or coerced by foreign interests.”

Source: The Washington Post


5. Trump Withdrew From the Paris Climate Deal A Year Ago. Here’s What Has Changed.



A year ago today, President Trump shocked the world by announcing that the United States would be the first and possibly only country to join, but then subsequently withdraw from, the Paris climate change agreement. Trump’s move felt dramatic at the time and was hugely controversial. Despite his administration efforts to roll back environmental protection, there has been little change in the nation’s overall greenhouse gas emissions trajectory.

The Trump administration, since the Paris withdrawal, has largely lacked a consistent message about climate change. Instead it has had many contradictory voices, from the climate change doubt of Environmental Protection Agency Administrator Scott Pruitt to the recent embrace of climate science by NASA Administrator Jim Bridenstine.

Similarly, while the administration has launched a wave of attempted regulatory rollbacks of Obama policies meant to curb climate change, like the Clean Power Plan, litigation by states and environmental groups makes it unclear how far those will advance. Thus fay, market trends that continue to punish coal and reward renewable energy and natural gas remain the dominant driver of the U.S. energy picture.

Source: The Washington Post


6. EU’ Climate-ADAPT Found to Be A Key Tool for Adaptation in Europe



The number of users of the joint European Environment Agency (EEA) - European Commission Climate-ADAPT online knowledge hub has increased fivefold since its launch in 2012, according to an EEA report published today. The assessment confirms the increasing value of the web platform for users such as policy makers, city planners, and other experts who are looking to share and make use of information and best practices in adapting to climate change.

The EEA report “Sharing adaptation information across Europe” suggests that there is also potential to grow the use of the platform by improving its reach, especially to users in eastern and central Europe and users with less experience of adaptation. It explains that increasingly countries are moving from developing adaptation strategies to implementing action plans, which requires other information, for example, on indicators of progress and effectiveness of policies and actions - areas where Climate-ADAPT can help inform users.

The outcome of the evaluation will feed into the European Commission’s evaluation of the EU’s climate adaptation strategy currently taking place. It will help the Commission and the EEA in their work to update the platform ensuring it reflects changing policies and information demands at national, European and global level.

Source: European Environment Agency


7. Government Promises Profitable Farming Post-Brexit



The government will take steps to ensure farms can operate profitably after Brexit, the environment secretary has insisted, as MPs challenged ministers to keep taxpayer funding for agriculture after EU subsidies are withdrawn.

Michael Gove said food production was at the heart of British farming. He told the all-party parliamentary environment group: “It would be impossible to sustain everything we value in rural Britain without thriving food production. And we need a balance [with environmental protection].” His insistence on food at the core of the agriculture remit of the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra) will be welcomed by farmers, who have seen lower productivity in recent years and were concerned by his previous emphasis on the environmental responsibilities of farming.

The environment, food and rural affairs committee found, in a report published on Wednesday, that the government’s plans for farming after Brexit have so far been vague and demanded further detail on what funding would be available after Brexit. Farmers currently receive £3bn in annual subsidies from the EU.

Source: The Guardian


8. World Environment Day: ‘Our World is Swamped By Plastic’



Discarded plastic is one of the biggest environmental threats facing the planet, the UN said in a report on Tuesday to mark World Environment Day.

The UN report, Single-Use Plastics: A Roadmap for Sustainability, said rules limiting the use of plastic bags have helped in places such as Morocco, Rwanda, and parts of China - sometimes significantly. Elsewhere, however, things have not gone well and urgent action is needed. The report noted, by some estimates, as many as five trillion plastic bags are used worldwide every year.

“Our world is swamped by harmful plastic waste,” UN Secretary-General Antonio Guterres said in a speech.” Microplastics in the seas now outnumber stars in our galaxy.

“If present trends continue, by 2050 our oceans will have more plastic than fish.”

Globally, eight million tons of plastic is dumped into the ocean every year, killing marine life and entering the human food chain, according to the UN Environment Programme.

Source: Aljazeera


9. Australian National Party Comments on Drought and Climate ‘A Disservice’ to Farmers



Farmers have challenged National party claims that conditions in drought-stricken regions in eastern Australia should not be politicised by attributing them to climate change. Farmer and former Nationals leader John Anderson said this week that while the drought was the worst he had experienced, it was not unprecedented.

The south-east of Australia has experienced record high temperatures this year during an unseasonably dry and hot autumn, prompting fire bans and warnings from authorities. In its latest winter outlook, the Bureau of Meteorology is forecasting warmer and drier than average conditions across large parts of the country.

“The bottom line is climate change is making weather patterns more extreme and unpredictable and that has serious consequences for Australia’s agriculture production,” The Climate Council’s research director and acting CEO, Martin Rice, said. Rice said hotter than average conditions and heat wave conditions in northern parts of New South Wales were leading to drier conditions and there had been an “abject failure” in climate policy at a federal level.

Source: The Guardian


10. Resource Competition and Climate Change Hampering South Sudan Peace and Development



The South Sudan State of Environment & Outlook Summary Report launched on World Environment Day is the first ever review of the South Sudan environmental situation. Ongoing conflict in South Sudan continues to hinder its ability to sustainably manage and develop its natural resources, threatening livelihoods of more than 10 million people depending on the country’s natural resources, according to the report.

“The war in South Sudan has been absolutely horrific and brings an extraordinarily high cost to civilians,” Erik Solheim, Head of UN Environment said. “This report shows how important it is to ensure South Sudan’s resources are managed well to benefit all of the people and put the country back on the road to peace.”

If sustainably managed, South Sudan’s natural resources - such as forests, oil, water, and minerals - present a huge economic opportunity for the country. The report identifies several key policy recommendations that will allow the world’s youngest nation to protect its ecosystems and create income by promoting agriculture, fishery and industrial development; establishing mechanisms for the protection and sustainable use of natural resources; and developing climate resilient communities.

Source: UN Environment









©2017 The International Fund for China’s Environment All Rights Reserved.

2421 Pennsylvania Ave.NW Washington,DC 20037-1718 USA

TeL 202-822-2141 Email: ifce.adm@gmail.com