INTERNATIONAL FUND FOR

CHINA’S ENVIRONMENT

项目介绍


【IFCE每周全球环境新闻】6.23-6.29

发行时间:2018-07-09


01 中国官员将为环境问题负责到底

如果不能保护当地环境,中国各地的县级,市级和省级领导党和政府官员将被追究责任。根据中国最新的强化防污染指令,如果不能达到防污染目标,他们将首先受到质疑。


中国的目标是提高整体环境质量,并确保到2020年污染物排放量得到大幅减少。根据发布的指令,预计到2035年该国的环境在工业结构和人们的生活方式上得到根本的改善。


地方政府也被要求起草年度行动计划,并每年向中央政府报告结果。不符合要求或造成环境损害的官员将被记录在案,并受终身追究制度的志愿。中国政府还计划简历独立的监督系统,统一环境方面的监督力量,确保环保指令得到充分落实。

来源:中国日报网





02 纳米技术突破极限

科学家周三表示,中国过去五年中在尖端纳米技术方面取得了一些突破,这些技术将在电动汽车,工业印刷和公共卫生领域有重大应用。


近年来,中国创造了一种锂离子动力电池,能够安全存储每千克质量300瓦小时。这可以为北京汽车集团公司生产的EV 200电动轿车维持500多公里的行驶距离,国家纳米科学技术中心研究院表示。


中国科学院物理研究所研究员李红表示,与此同时,中国利用纳米技术在下一代可充电电池,即锂硫电池和锂空气电池方面取得突破。与锂离子电池相比,锂硫电池使用硫而不是昂贵的合金用于电极,使其更便宜,更轻,并且能够在相同质量下储存几乎两倍的能





03 “电化学”的广泛使用

6月25日发表在“自然气候变化”上的一项新研究评估了最近一项通过“电化学”从大气中捕获二氧化碳方法的过程和应用。这种方法可以生出氢气作为使用燃料,创造副产品,以帮助抵消海洋酸比。


该工艺利用可再生能源发电,用于电解咸水,生成氢气和氧气,和与全球丰富的矿物质发生反应。这些化学反应吸收和保留大气中的二氧化碳,形成了一种合理的解决方案。研究人员已经开发了几种相关的方法,所有方法都涉及电化学、盐水和碳酸盐或硅酸盐矿物。


电化学方法已在实验室得到证实,但需要更多的研究来帮助扩大它们的应用。该技术可能仅限于可获得咸水和丰富可再生能源及矿物质的沿海或近海地点。

来源:Science Daily




04 澳大利亚参议院建议禁止所有一次性塑料

根据参议院对澳大利亚回收危机的调查建议,到2023年该国将禁止所有一次性使用的塑料 - 可外带容器,塑料包装和带塑料衬里的咖啡杯。


虽然该报告并没有明确指出禁止使用哪一种一次性塑料,但澳大利亚参议员表示它可能包括外卖容器、食品包装袋、塑料袋和带塑料衬里的咖啡杯。该报告还呼吁政府优先考虑废弃物的循环使用,而不是继续为将废物转化为能源这一有争议的目标而努力。由此,政府部门必须设定使用回收材料的强制标准。


这一报告总结说,目前的回收危机为改革澳大利亚的废物体系提供了一个机会,这个体系“太重要了,不容错过”。

来源:卫报





05 孕期遭受空气污染不会导致胎儿注意缺陷多动症(ADHD)

一项针对来自七个欧洲国家的30,000名儿童的研究发现,产前暴露于空气污染与胎儿注意力缺陷和多动症的症状之间没有关联。


怀孕期间暴露于空气污染与3-10岁儿童注意力缺陷和多动症患病的风险增加无关。这是由巴塞罗那全球健康研究所(ISGlobal)领导的一项新研究的结论,该研究中心由“la Caixa”银行基金会支持。该研究包括来自七个欧洲国家的近30,000名儿童的数据。


最近的研究得出结论,产前暴露于空气污染可能会影响儿童的大脑发育,但空气污染对ADHD症状影响的证据有限。

来源:科学日报




06 普鲁特力求限制环保署在许可水污染的权力

美国环境保护署(EPA)负责人斯考特·普鲁特(Scott Pruitt)正计划限制该机构阻止可能污染或损害水道的活动许可。该规定很可能是EPA在40年内执行“清洁水法”怼疏浚或填补水道限制的最重大变化。


普鲁特表示,这些活动将在保持对清洁水源保护的基础上增加监管的确定性。这项决策已经成为了清洁水法案的重要核心。它限制了广泛的活动,可能会上海湖泊、河流或其他水体, 例如向水源中倾倒污染物或阻碍河流。

Source: The Hill





07 卡玛环境污染升至惊人程度

卡玛最南部省份工业园群中工厂集群的污染已经上升到令人震惊的程度,严重影响了当地居民的生活。


位于该镇入口处的工业园区拥有10多家海鲜加工厂。这些加工厂曾经是省里的骄傲,因为它为当地人提供了众多就业机会,并未该省的经济作出过巨大贡献。然而这些加工厂如今俨然成为当地居民的一大忧患。


卡玛省环境保护部门负责人Ngo Chi Hung表示,一些工厂已经设法阻止污染,但其它许多工厂在非工作时间偷偷地排放废水和气体,这意味着当局无法当场抓住他们的污染行为。另外,这些工业园区都位于河流沿岸,使得监察工厂的污水排放变得更加困难。


现在,所有企业将在当局的指示下在本源安装摄像头以检测其废水处理情况。同时,该省已决定不再允许在工业区外设立海鲜加工长。




08 我们呼吸的大部分室内空气都被微弹性颗粒污染

尽管最近的研究表明,在我们的瓶装水和自来水中发现微塑料,但现在进一步的研究显示,我们身体中的大多数微塑料来自我们每天吸入的空气。


全球室内空气净化品牌高级空气过滤专家罗博士说:“过去60年来,塑料产量从没年1.7亿增加到3.22亿吨。”英国环境审计委员会报告说,光是一次简单的淋雨就可以将十万个未弹珠粒排入废水,今儿排放到空气当中。


根据罗博士介绍,这些为塑料可能导致心血管和脑血管疾病,诱发癌症并影响免疫系统和神经系统。儿童将面临最大的威胁,因为他们比成年人更加活跃,因此呼吸更快,从而相对呼吸道更多的空气。而且他们年轻的呼吸系统还在发育中,罗博士补充道。

来源:AccuWeather




09 加州大学圣克鲁兹分校开设环境科学新专业

加州大学圣克鲁兹分校开设了新的环境科学本科专业。这是一门以物理科学为基础的新学科,这一专业将教会学生如何将化学、物理和数学的基本概念应用于气候、污染和水资源等领域的环境问题。


地球行星科学教授帕特里克(Patrick Chuang)说:“这一把物理科学作为重点的定量研究方法的学科将帮助新专业与其它相关课程区分开来。我看到许多学生都努力想要找到合适的专业,我也看到了以物理为本,解决当前环境问题的需要。”


这一新专业是对环境研究专业的补充,隶属社会科学部门。它强调社会、政治和经济方面的环境问题,以及生态学、保护生物学领域的可持续性。





10 成堆的电子废弃物使泰国成为“世界垃圾桶

由于泰国环境法的疏松,该国在过去的六个月中俨然成为了世界电子垃圾的倾倒地。泰国当局正在努力控制局面,担心泰国成为“世界垃圾场”。


今年到目前为止,仅仅五个月的时间,泰国的电子垃圾进口一增加到三万其千吨(还有更多从非法途径运进泰国),泰国已成为继中国之后第一个眼里打击合法及非法电子垃圾进口的东南亚国家。“泰国的电子垃圾已经太多了。”泰国副警察局局长Wirachai Songmetta表示,“世界垃圾带来的污染不是我们该承担的责任,我们更不应该影响到下一代泰国人的生活。”


泰国海关关员现在每天在泰国各大港口退回多达20个集装箱的电子废物。在未来的两个月内,泰国政府计划通过立法禁止外国电子废物和塑料废物进入泰国。

来源:卫报







©2017 The International Fund for China’s Environment All Rights Reserved.

2421 Pennsylvania Ave.NW Washington,DC 20037-1718 USA

TeL 202-822-2141 Email: ifce.adm@gmail.com

INTERNATIONAL FUND FOR

CHINA’S ENVIRONMENT

PROGRAMS


IFCE Global Environmental Weekly Events [6/23 - 6/29/2018]

Release time:2018-07-09

01 Chinese Officials Will Be Responsible For The Environment

Leading Party and government officials at the county, city and provincial levels across China will be held accountable if they fail to protect the local environment. They will be the first to be questioned if antipollution targets are not met, according to China's latest directive to toughen the fight against pollution.


China aims to improve the overall environmental quality and ensure a significant decrease in pollutant emissions by 2020. By 2035, the country is expected to see its environment fundamentally improved after the industrial structure and people's lifestyle have become environmentally friendly, according to the directive published on Sunday.


Local governments are also required to draft annual action plans and report the results to the central government every year. Officials who fail to meet requirements and contribute to environmental damage will be put on record and subject to a lifelong accountability system.

China also plans to establish an independent supervision system and unify environmental supervision forces to ensure the directive can be fully implemented, Xu added.

Source: China Daily

http://www.chinadaily.com.cn/a/201806/25/WS5b2ffa11a3103349141de724.html


02 Nanotechnology Limits Pushed

China has made several breakthroughs in cutting-edge nanotechnology in the past five years that will have significant applications in electric vehicles, industrial printing and public health, scientists said on Wednesday.


In recent years, China has created a lithium-ion power battery capable of safely storing 300 watt hours per kilogram of mass, which could power a more than 500 kilometer trips in the EV 200 electric sedan produced by Beijing Automotive Group Co, said Wang Chen, a researcher from the National Center for Nanoscience and Technology.


At the same time, China has used nanotechnologies to make breakthroughs in the next generation of rechargeable batteries, namely lithium-sulfur and lithium-air batteries, said Li Hong, a researcher at the Chinese Academy of Sciences' Institute of Physics.

Compared with lithium-ion batteries, lithium-sulfur batteries use sulfur rather than expensive alloys for electrodes, making them cheaper, lighter and able to store almost double the energy for the same mass. China has created a world-leading lithium-sulfur battery capable of holding 609 Wh/kg, Li said.

Source: China Daily

http://www.chinadaily.com.cn/a/201806/14/WS5b21aa6ea31001b825721c0c.html


03 “Electrogeochemistry” Captures Carbon, Produces Fuel, Offsets Ocean Acidification

A new study published June 25 in Nature Climate Change evaluates the potential for recently described methods that capture carbon dioxide from the atmosphere through an "electrogeochemical" process that also generates hydrogen gas for use as fuel and creates by-products that can help counteract ocean acidification.


The process uses electricity from a renewable energy source for electrolysis of saline water to generate hydrogen and oxygen, coupled with reactions involving globally abundant minerals to produce a solution that strongly absorbs and retains carbon dioxide from the atmosphere. Rau and other researchers have developed several related methods, all of which involve electrochemistry, saline water, and carbonate or silicate minerals.


The electrogeochemical methods have been demonstrated in the laboratory, but more research is needed to scale them up. The technology would probably be limited to sites on the coast or offshore with access to saltwater, abundant renewable energy, and minerals.


04 Recycling: Senate Inquiry Recommends All Single-Use Plastic Be Banned

A Senate inquiry into Australia’s recycling crisis has recommended that all single-use plastics - which could potentially takeaway containers, chip packets and coffee cups with plastic linings - be banned by 2023.


While the report did not define what single-use plastics could be banned, senator Whish-Wilson said it could include takeaway containers, chip packets, plastic bags and coffee cups with plastic linings. The report also calls on the government to prioritise waste production over controversial waste-to-energy and for government departments to set mandatory targets for using recycle material.


Tuesday’s report concluded the current recycling crisis offered an opportunity to reform Australia’s waste system that was “too important to be missed”.

Source: The Guardian

https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2018/jun/26/recycling-senate-inquiry-recommends-all-single-use-plastics-be-banned


05 Exposure To Air Pollution in Pregnancy Does Not Increase Symptoms of Attention-Deficit

A study of 30,000 children from seven European countries found no association between prenatal exposure to air pollution and symptoms of attention-deficit and hyperactivity.


Exposure to air pollution during pregnancy may not be associated with an increased risk of attention-deficit and hyperactivity symptoms in children aged 3 to 10 years. This was the conclusion of a new study led by the Barcelona Institute for Global Health (ISGlobal), a centre supported by the "la Caixa" Banking Foundation. The study included data on nearly 30,000 children from seven European countries.


Recent studies have concluded that prenatal exposure to air pollution could affect brain development in children, but the evidence on the effects of air pollution on ADHD symptoms is limited.

Source: Science Daily

https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2018/06/180625122348.htm


06 Pruitt Seeks to Limit EPA’s Authority to Block Water Pollution Permits

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) head Scott Pruitt is planning to limit the agency’s authority to block permits for activities that could pollute or harm waterways. The regulation would likely be the most significant change to how the EPA enforces the Clean Water Act’s restrictions on dredging or filling waterways in four decades.


Pruitt said the actions would increase regulatory certainty while still maintaining protections for clean water. The permitting process at issue is at the core of the Clean Water Act. It restricts a wide range of activities that could harm lakes, rivers or other water bodies, like dumping pollutants into them or obstructing them.


07 Environmental Pollution in Ca Mau Rises to Alarming Level

Despites efforts by authorities, pollution at industrial parks and clusters in the southernmost province of Ca Mau has risen to alarming level, affecting the lives of local residents.


Located at the town’s entrance, Doc River Industrial Park (IP), which has more than 10 seafood processing facilities, was once the province’s pride since it offered jobs to a large number of locals and contributed significantly to the province’s coffers. But the same processing facilities have now become a big concern for Doc River Town’s residents.


Ngo Chi Hung, head of Ca Mau province’s Department of Environment Protection, said some factories have managed to stop the pollution but many others sneakily discharge wastewater and gases during non-working hours meaning authorities cannot catch them in the act. Besides, most of the seafood and fish sauce processing facilities in the Doc River Town and Hoa Trung IZs are located along rivers, making it difficult for authorities to discover their wastewater discharge, he said.


The enterprises have been instructed to install cameras to monitor their wastewater treatment by this month.

The province has decided it will no longer allow the setting up of seafood processing facilities outside industrial zones.


08 Most of the Indoor Air We Breathe Is Polluted With Microplastic Particles

Although recent studies have shown that microplastics have been found in our bottled and tap water, additional research now reveals that the majority of microplastics in our bodies comes from the air we inhale each day.


“Plastic production has increased from 1.7 to 322 million tons annually over the last 60 years,” said Dr. Kevin Luo, senior air filtration specialist for global indoor air purification brand Blueair. Simply showering with a body scrub can flush 100,000 microplastic beads into wastewater then into the air, the United Kingdom’s Environmental Audit Committee reported.


These microplastics can lead to cardiovascular and cerebrovascular diseases, induce cancer and impact the immune and nervous systems, according to Luo. Children face the biggest threat, as they’re more active than adults and therefore breathe more rapidly and take in more air in relation to their body weights. Their young respiratory systems are also still developing, said Luo.

Source: AccuWeather

https://www.accuweather.com/en/weather-news/most-of-the-indoor-air-we-breathe-is-polluted-with-microplastic-particles/70005341


09 UC Santa Cruz Offers New Major In Environmental Sciences

UC Santa Cruz has approved a new major in environmental sciences leading to a B.S. degree. An interdepartmental program with an emphasis on the physical sciences, the new major will teach students how to apply fundamental concepts of chemistry, physics, and mathematics to environmental problems in areas such as climate, pollution, and water resources.


"The quantitative approach and focus on physical sciences distinguish this major from related programs," said Patrick Chuang, professor of earth and planetary sciences. "I've seen many students struggling to find the right major for them, and I saw the need for a program rooted in the physical sciences that applies those tools to environmental issues."


The new program is complementary to the environmental studies major, based in the Social Sciences Division, which emphasizes social, political, and economic aspects of environmental issues, as well as ecology, conservation biology, and sustainability.

Source: Santa Cruz News Center

https://news.ucsc.edu/2018/06/environmental-sciences.html


10 Deluge of Electronic Waste Turning Thailand into “World’s Rubbish Dump”

Thailand, with its lax environmental laws, has become a dumping ground for e-waste over the past six months, but authorities are clamping down, fearful that the country will become the “rubbish dump of the world”.


After five months in which e-waste imports have increased to 37,000 tonnes so far this year (more is thought to have entered illegally), Thailand has become the first south-east Asian nation to follow China’s example and crack down on the legal and illegal e-waste coming in.


“We already have too much electronic waste here in Thailand. It is not our burden to bring this pollution from the rest of the world to the next generation of Thai people,” said Thailand’s deputy police chief, Wirachai Songmetta.


Thai customs officers are now pushing back 20 containers of e-waste a day that are landing in Thai ports, and in the next two months the government plans to pass legislation to ban foreign e-waste and plastic waste from entering Thailand.

Source: The Guardian

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2018/jun/28/deluge-of-electronic-waste-turning-thailand-into-worlds-rubbish-dump



©2017 The International Fund for China’s Environment All Rights Reserved.

2421 Pennsylvania Ave.NW Washington,DC 20037-1718 USA

TeL 202-822-2141 Email: ifce.adm@gmail.com