INTERNATIONAL FUND FOR

CHINA’S ENVIRONMENT

项目介绍


【IFCE每周全球环境新闻】6.30-7.6

发行时间:2018-07-09


01 美国开设环境项目帮助鱼类通行

美国怀俄明州的一个组织将开始在杜波伊斯的周边地区开展一项加强阿卡丽克里克地区的鱼类通道和道路通道的项目。这个项目会帮助改善公共土地的获取,增加道路安全和道路使用寿命,有效帮助溪流疏通,从而改善产卵栖息地的鱼类通道,获得基因纯净的黄石鳟鱼。


“这个项目将对该地区产生巨大影响。项目完成之时,大约四到六英里的季节性鱼群产卵地将被重新连接起来。”鱼类通道协调员尼克如是说。 “安装较长的涵洞和岩石堰可以帮助扩大道路交叉口,降低道路坡度,并更好的适应突发性洪水。”

来源:Buckrail


02 联合国环境规划署:贸易战将危害环境

联合国环境规划署负责人埃里克称,特朗普总统的惩罚性关税会破坏全球合作,减缓世界可持续发展的趋势。“全球贸易战将破坏之前世界各国在应对气候变化,保护环境和消除贫困上所做出的努力。”


除了蔑视全球合作以外,索尔海姆还表示,“美国的保护主义带来的经济放缓对环境非常不利,因为这样做是在浪费资源而不是有效利用资源。保护主义使环境技术的传播速度放缓,从而使更多人陷入贫困之中。”


最后索尔海姆表示他坚信美国对全球贸易合作的破坏不太可能持久。

来源:Climate Home News


03 新任环境部部长欲将新泽西打造成“无塑料岛”

新泽西新任环境部长承诺支持“无塑料岛”活动。该活动为期一个月,旨在减少当地居民的塑料使用量。


这个活动倡议当地居民们思考他们使用一次性塑料的数量,并提高他们对塑料会造成严重环境影响的认知。环境部长约翰杨说:“我很期待与大家一起讨论这一话题,我也希望本月的活动将减少居民们对一次性塑料的依赖。”


环境部门表示,自从新泽西的商店开始实行塑料袋收费的政策之后,塑料袋使用量已经得到大幅减少。

来源:新泽西晚报


04 西雅图推出塑料吸管禁令,减少海洋污染

西雅图是美国第一个在食品服务业中禁止使用一次性塑料吸管和餐具的主要城市。西雅图一直是美国的环境保护事业方面的领军城市,尤其是在控制垃圾填埋场的垃圾量方面。


西雅图的5000家餐厅现在都被要求必须使用可重复使用或可降解的餐具和吸管。该市依然在进一步鼓励企业完全停止供给吸管或鼓励他们使用纸吸管。


西雅图的塑料禁令是2008年法令的一部分,该法令要求餐馆和其他食品服务企业为一次性容器、杯子、吸管、餐具和其他产品寻找可回收的替代品。

来源:NBC新闻


05 空气污染提升糖尿病患病几率

CNN报道称,本周五在《柳叶刀·地球健康》上发表的一篇重要研究显示,即使是暴露在被美国环境保护局和世界健康组织列为安全的微粒物污染等级之下的环境中也会增加人们的患病风险。


研究发现空气污染已经在2016年造成了全球三百二十万例糖尿病的新增病发,占全年总病例的14%,其中在美国每年有15万例。在2016年,由环境污染引发的糖尿病使全球八百二十万人面临健康威胁,占全年面临糖尿病威胁健康人数的14%。


这份研究建立在之前对于空气污染和糖尿病联系的研究之上,并更加紧密的关注了健康威胁和暴露在空气污染之中的关联。有关专家认为污染抑制了胰岛素的产生,增加了炎症,这让身体很难把葡糖糖转化为能量,从而引发了的糖尿病。

来源:EcoWatch


06 为保护环境和野生动物,科罗拉多阿斯彭市用无人机表演代替烟花庆祝国庆

为保护野生动物和自然生态环境,科罗拉多州的阿斯彭市选择不再依照惯例在每年的七月四号举行烟火表演,而选择在今年用无人机表演作为代替庆祝国庆节,因为无人机表演将不会对动物、野生环境以及城市周围地貌造成威胁。阿斯彭这场色彩缤纷的无人机秀的主办方为阿斯彭商会度假村协会(ACRA),此次活动位于瓦格纳公园,于当晚九点十五分开始,仪式中有五十架无人机随着爱国音乐进行表演。


ACRA的发言人梅利莎·维森贝克说道:“我们今晚的无人机表演的亮点是让这次的庆祝仪式变得有趣和新颖。”

“如果我们每年都在面临更大的火灾威胁,我们就应该选择能够代替烟花的庆祝方式,这样大家就都能更好的享受这个夜晚了。”

来源:Good News Network


07 全球多达26000种物种濒临灭绝

根据最新的世界自然濒危物种红色名录评估得出,超过26000个地球物种正面临威胁,这增加了人们对于地球进入第六次灭绝危机的恐慌。从去年开始,6个物种被正式宣布灭绝,使全球灭绝物种总数增长到872个。另外,1700个物种被列为濒危物种。


这其中19个物种被归为更高危的级别,一部分原因是红色名录的持续扩大。这个名录由全球数千名专家共同编制,现在已经包含了93577个物种,其中26197个被列为易危,濒危和极危。


受到威胁的不仅仅只是那些远离人类,名字陌生的动物。科学家们警告道,生物多样性的减少比气候变化的危害更大,因为这证明地球提供清洁空气、新鲜水源和稳定天气系统的能力正在被削弱。

来源:卫报


08 欧洲大部分水源未通过水质检测

一份新的报告表明,欧洲绝大多数的河流、湖泊和河口未能达到栖息地退化和污染的最低生态标准。尽管有欧盟法律和生物多样性协议的限制,欧洲环境署(EEA)的调查发现地表水体中只有40%处于良好的生态状态。


从这份研究了13万条水道的报告来看,英格兰的水域状况是众多国家中表现较差的国家之一。苏格兰在清洁水资源方面的表现明显优于英格兰,在2010年-2015年期间,其水质标准达到与斯堪的纳维亚半岛接近。


欧洲环境署的调查显示,地面和地表水被化学污染的程度不一样。四分之三的地下水样品质量良好,而62%的河流、河口和湖泊的水质都有严重污染。过量的农药使用、雨水污染和废物处理厂的不足导致汞污染成为最常见的问题之一。

来源:卫报



09 环境传感和监测技术市场将取得质的飞跃


预计全球对环境传感和监测技术需求的不断扩大,将在公共,私营和政府部门中创造巨大的商机。传感技术的不断发展和国家环境管理预算的增加被确定为全球环境传感和监测技术市场的重要驱动因素。


环境传感技术被广泛用于识别环境的各种变化,例如自然灾害、气候变化、水质、空气质量、土壤质量和噪声水平。此外,环境监测技术还可被应用于温室气体监测、滑坡检测、火灾探测和空气污染监测。


然而预计在2016-2026的十年时间里,缺乏环境监测意识、适应新技术的预算限制以及缺乏统一标准和模型将成为环境感知和监测技术市场增长的限制因素。

来源:Financial Reporting



10 塑料吸管不仅对环境不利,还对身体有危害

各国政府和公司正在世界各地采取禁止使用塑料吸管的措施,因为这些大多数人不需要的东西所产生出的废物量是惊人的:一组名为Better Alternatives Now的非盈利组织通过世界各地志愿者收集起来的垃圾统计出,环境中7.5%的塑料垃圾来自于吸管等一次性塑料物品。世界经济论坛最近的一份报告预测,到2050年,我们海洋中的塑料将超过鱼类。


通过吸管饮用含糖或酸性饮料会增加蛀牙的可能性。吸管将浓缩的液体流向牙齿的一小块区域,这会侵蚀牙釉质并导致牙齿腐烂。大多数一次性使用的塑料吸管由聚丙烯制成,聚丙烯是一种由石油制成的塑料。在食品和药物管理局的批准数量下,聚丙烯被认为是食用安全的。但有证据表明,聚丙烯中的化学物质会渗入液体中,并可能释放出可能影响雌激素水平的化合物,尤其是当暴露在高温,酸性饮料或紫外线下时。


虽然反吸管运动是减少海洋废弃物不可缺少的一步,但仍然还有许多工作需要做。塑料现在已经成为我们生活的一部分。制作塑料的化学成分已经出现在我们的尿液、血液和细胞中。因此,我们都应该在日常生活中减少所有一次性塑料用品的使用,以保护我们的海洋和我们自己。

来源:华盛顿邮报





©2017 The International Fund for China’s Environment All Rights Reserved.

2421 Pennsylvania Ave.NW Washington,DC 20037-1718 USA

TeL 202-822-2141 Email: ifce.adm@gmail.com

INTERNATIONAL FUND FOR

CHINA’S ENVIRONMENT

PROGRAMS


IFCE Global Environmental Weekly Events [6/30 - 7/6/2018]

Release time:2018-07-09


01 Environmental Project Near Dubois Will Help Fish Passage

Wyoming Game and Fish will begin work on a project in the Upper East Fork area of Dubois that will enhance fish passage and road access in the Alkali Creek area.


The project will improve access to public land, increase road safety and longevity, allow for better stream function, and improve fish passage in spawning habitat for a genetically pure population of Yellowstone cutthroat trout.


“This project will have a huge impact on the area. For the fish alone, once the project is complete, approximately four to six miles of seasonal and spawning habitat will be reconnected,” says Nick Scribner, fish passage coordinator.

Source: Buckrail

https://buckrail.com/environmental-project-near-dubois-will-help-fish-passage/



02 Trade War Would Harm the Environment, Warns UN Green Chief

Donald Trump’s punitive tariffs and the reaction could undermine global cooperation and slow the transition to a sustainable world, says Erik Solheim, who leads the UN Environment Programme. A global trade war would damage efforts to combat climate change, protect the environment and fight poverty, according to the UN’s environment chief.


In addition to degrading cooperation, Solheim said an economic slowdown brought about by protectionism would be “very bad for the environment because you waste resources rather than using them effectively. It will make the spread of environmental technologies less fast. And of course it will keep more people in poverty for a longer period of time”.


Ultimately, Solheim said, US efforts to break global cooperation on trade and other issues were unlikely to last.

Source: Climate Home News

http://www.climatechangenews.com/2018/06/28/trade-war-harm-environment-warns-un-green-chief/



03 Environment Minister Wants “Plastic-Free” Island

Jersey’s new Environment Minister pledged to support initiatives which could help turn the island “plastic free”, as a month-long campaign to reduce the amount of plastic Islanders use started on Sunday.


The Plastic-Free July initiative is asking Islanders to think about the amount of single-use plastic they use, and is raising awareness of the effect it has on the environment. Environment Minister John Young said: ‘I’m looking forward to participating in discussions and I hope this month of focused activities will reduce Islanders’ reliance on single-use plastic.


The Environment Department said this had led to a ‘big reduction’ in plastic bag usage after Jersey shops started charging for them.

Source: Jersey Evening Post

https://jerseyeveningpost.com/news/2018/07/02/environment-minister-wants-plastic-free-island/



04 Seattle Plastic Straw Ban Goes Into Effect In Effort to Reduce Marine Pollution

Seattle is believed to be the first major U.S. city to ban single-use plastic straws and utensils in food service, according to Seattle Public Utilities. The eco-conscious city has been an environmental leader in the U.S., working to aggressively curb the amount of trash that goes into landfills by requiring more options that can be recycled or composted.


Seattle's 5,000 restaurants will now have to use reusable or compostable utensils, straws and cocktail picks, though the city is encouraging businesses to consider not providing straws altogether or switch to paper rather than compostable plastic straws.


Seattle's ban is part of a 2008 ordinance that requires restaurants and other food-service businesses to find recyclable or compostable alternatives to disposable containers, cups, straws, utensils and other products.

Source: NBC News

https://www.nbcnews.com/science/environment/seattle-plastic-straw-ban-goes-effect-effort-reduce-marine-pollution-n888426



05 Air Pollution Increases Diabetes Risk at Levels

A major study published Friday in The Lancet Planetary Health finds that particulate matter exposure can increase risk for the disease even at levels currently deemed safe by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and the World Health Organization, CNN Reported.


The study found that air pollution caused 3.2 million new diabetes cases globally in 2016, 14 percent of the year’s total cases, and causes 150,000 new cases in the U.S. every year. Pollution-linked diabetes was also the cause of 8.2 million years of healthy life lost globally in 2016, 14 percent of the total number of healthy years lost due to diabetes that year. In the U.S., 350,000 years of healthy life are lost a year.


The study builds on previous research linking diabetes to air pollution, as well as a growing awareness of the extent of the health risks associated with pollution exposure. Health experts believe pollution triggers diabetes by reducing insulin production and increasing inflammation, making it harder for the body to turn glucose into energy.

Source: EcoWatch

https://www.ecowatch.com/air-pollution-diabetes-epa-2583155988.html



06 In Order to Protect Environment and Wildlife, City is Swapping Fireworks for a Drone Show

As a means of protecting their wildlife and region, the city of Aspen, Colorado has opted to swap out their usual Fourth of July fireworks in favor of a synchronized drone show. So instead of endangering the animals, wilderness, and land surrounding the city, Aspen hosted a colorful light show of 50 drones synced to patriotic music in Wagner park.


The show was organized by Aspen Chamber Resort Association (ACRA) and started tonight at 9:15PM local time.

“We had to come up with a highlight for our celebrations so we’re doing a drone show. It should be fun, a bit new age,” said Acra’s spokeswoman Melissa Wisenbaker.

“If we are having these increased fire dangers and risks every year, then we would like to have alternatives so people can end the night on a good note,” she added.

Source: Good News Network

https://www.goodnewsnetwork.org/in-order-to-protect-environment-and-wildlife-city-is-swapping-fireworks-for-a-drone-show/



07 Red List Research Finds 26,000 Global Species Under Extinction Threat

More than 26,000 of the world’s species are now threatened, according to the latest red list assessment of the natural world, adding to fears the planet is entering a sixth wave of extinctions. Since last year, six species have been declared extinct, taking the total to 872. Another 1,700 species are listed as critically endangered, possibly extinct.


Nineteen of the species previously on the list have moved to a higher level of concern. Part of the rise is due to the steady expansion of the IUCN red list - which is compile with the collaboration of thousands of experts around the world. It now includes 93,577 species, of which 26,197 are classified as vulnerable, critical or endangered.


The threats are not limited to faraway creatures with exotic names. Scientists have  the loss of biodiversity is more of a threat than climate change because it the earth’s capacity to provide clean air, fresh water, food and a stable weather system.

Source: The Guardian

https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2018/jul/05/red-list-research-finds-26000-species-under-extinction-threat



08 Most of Europe’s Rivers and Lakes Fail Water Quality Tests

The vast majority of Europe’s rivers, lakes and estuaries have failed to meet minimum ecological standards for habitat degradation and pollution, according to a damning new report. Only 40% of surface water bodies surveyed by the European Environmental Agency (EEA) were found to be in a good ecological state, despite EU laws and biodiversity protocols.


England was one of the poorer performers to emerge from the State of Our Waters report, which studied 130,000 waterways. Scotland dramatically outperformed England in the clean water stocktake which covers the 2010-15 period, with water standards similar to much of Scandinavia.


The EEA survey revealed a divide between chemical pollution in ground and surface water sites. Three-quarters of groundwater samples were of good quality; 62% of rivers, estuaries and lakes were not. Mercury contamination was one of the most common problems, with overuse of pesticides, inadequate waste treatment plants and tainted rainfall all contributing to the results.

Source: The Guardian

https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2018/jul/03/most-of-europes-rivers-and-lakes-fail-water-quality-tests-report



09 Environmental Sensing and Monitoring Technologies Market is Set to Experience Revolutionary Growth by 2024

The expanding global demand for environmental sensing and monitoring technologies is expected to witness large business opportunity in public, private and government sectors. Continuous development in sensing technology and rising national budgets on environmental management are identified as the significant drivers in the global market for environmental sensing and monitoring technologies.


Environmental sensing technologies are widely used to identify various changes in the environment, such as natural disaster, climate change, water quality, air quality, soil quality, and noise level. Also, environmental monitoring technologies utilized in various critical applications such as greenhouse gas monitoring, landslide detection, fire detection, and air pollution monitoring.


However, lack of awareness, budgetary constraints to adapt new technology and differential standards and regularity models are identified as the restraints for the growth of environmental sensing and monitoring technologies market, amidst the forecast period 2016-2026.

Source: Financial Reporting

https://financialreporting24.com/environmental-sensing-and-monitoring-technologies-market-is-set-to-experience-revolutionary-growth-by-2024/




10 Plastic Straws Aren’t Just Bad for the Environment --- They Can Be Bad for Your Body

Governments and companies are taking the action to ban straws across the world because of the staggering volume of waste generated by something most people don’t need: An estimated 7.5 percent of plastic in the environment comes from straws and stirrers, according to an analysis by a group of pollution research nonprofits called Better Alternatives Now, which based its results on trash collected by volunteers around the world. A recent report by the World Economic Forum projects that by the year 2050, the plastic in our oceans will outweigh the fish.


Drinking sugary or acidic beverages through a straw can increase the likelihood of cavities. Straws send a concentrated stream of liquid toward a small area of the teeth, which can erode enamel and cause tooth decay.


Most single-use plastic straws are made from polypropylene, a type of plastic commonly made from petroleum. Polypropylene is thought to be food-safe in amounts approved by the Food and Drug Administration. But there is evidence that chemicals from polypropylene can leach into liquids and may release compounds that could affect estrogen levels, especially when exposed to heat, acidic beverages or UV light.


While the anti-straw movement is an impressive step toward reducing waste in our oceans, there is much more work to be done. Whether we like it or not, plastic is a part of us now. Chemicals from plastic manufacturing show up in our urine, blood and cells. So let’s take the conversation beyond straws and move to reduce the use of all single-use plastics in our daily lives to protect our oceans, and ourselves.

Source: The Washington Post

https://www.washingtonpost.com/lifestyle/wellness/plastic-straws-arent-just-bad-for-the-environment--they-can-be-bad-for-your-body/2018/07/02/d682fdfe-7964-11e8-aeee-4d04c8ac6158_story.html?utm_term=.bdb5310eabb5



©2017 The International Fund for China’s Environment All Rights Reserved.

2421 Pennsylvania Ave.NW Washington,DC 20037-1718 USA

TeL 202-822-2141 Email: ifce.adm@gmail.com