INTERNATIONAL FUND FOR

CHINA’S ENVIRONMENT

项目介绍


【IFCE每周全球环境新闻】7.7-7.13

发行时间:2018-07-12

01 为保护环境,星巴克将在2020年全面停止塑料吸管供应

星巴克全球各地的店面都将在2020年全面停止提供塑料吸管,以此来推动企业环保。这家总部位于西雅图的公司在周一表示,它将使用其它材料制作成吸管,并生产出不需要吸管的盖子。今年秋天,这些没有插管孔的盖子将开始出现在西雅图和温哥华的星巴克,并预计在明年开始在美国和加拿大的其它地区进行大面积推广。


抵制塑料吸管的活动即将席卷全球,没有插管孔的饮品盖将会陆续出现在法国、荷兰和英国等一些欧洲国家的特定商店中。麦当劳也表示,它将把英国和爱尔兰店铺中的吸管换为纸吸管,并在美国的一些店铺中进行塑料吸管替代品的测试。今年2月,唐恩都乐(Dunkin‘ Donuts)也表示将在2020年之前替换掉其店面中所有聚苯乙烯泡沫杯。

来源:卫报


02 混合动力汽车将免受2040年汽油、柴油禁令限制

环境部长去年表示将在2040年之前全面禁止化石燃料汽车的使用,但运输部长克里斯·格雷林周一证实,由电力、柴油或汽油组成的混合动力汽车将得到豁免。现在,政府通过“零污染“战略减少汽车污染中的一项重要目标就是在2030年到来之前保证50%的新车都是超低排放的。


然而,环保团体指责政府的这一行为是在削弱其承诺。绿色和平组织表示,这样一来不仅是汽车行业“再次获得免费通行证”,而且这个目标相对国际标准来说远远不够。因“改善交通”倡议对混合动力车作出让步,使其可以继续在路上行驶,这一倡议收效甚微,被视为“后退的一步”,这将削减2040年原本就低于国际标准的环保目标。

来源:卫报


03 中国发布2020年空气污染行动计划

中国7月3日发布的新空气污染行动计划相对以往更为详细,涵盖的城市数量相比2017年年底来说有所提升,然而它并没有设立比现有计划更严格的环境治理目标。新的2018-2020年“蓝天战争”三年行动计划被许多人视为原先空气污染行动计划的第二阶段。


作为第十三个“五年环境保护计划”的一部分,新计划与2016年公布的PM2.5目标一致:要求在2015年的基础上使高端城市和未达到标准地区的PM2.5下降至少18%。对于一些城市来说,达到这样的目标十分相对容易,然而对于之前不受这项计划约束的城市,如山西的临汾来说,将不得不提高空气质量以达到这个目标。

来源:中外对话


04 废弃的海洋石油钻塔将帮助海洋生态

近日一篇悉尼科技大学的研究指出,海洋石油钻塔在停止使用之后可以帮助海洋生态。人们通常会认为在石油钻塔停止使用之后,石油开发者应该把海平面恢复原状。这个研究则挑战了这一常识。


这篇研究是由四十位来自学界,政府以及商业咨询等方面的专家合作完成的。研究指出,石油钻塔在经过三十年的使用后,生物已经在该装置上繁衍生息,形成了类似珊瑚礁的生物群。研究人员指出,虽然该研究是在澳大利亚的北海完成的,但是其结论适用于世界其他海域。


超过90%的专家表示,政府应该停止移除废弃石油钻塔,应根据不同钻塔的实际情况,制定个性化的,灵活的方案。 把整个石油钻塔移除将不会起到保护环境的效果。

来源:BBC


05 耶鲁大学通过新的生态住宅板块展示现代生活的可持续发展性

联合国环境(UN Environment)和耶鲁大学与联合国人居署(UN Habitat)合作推出了一个新的生态住房板块,引发关于可持续性发展设计方案的讨论,例如如何提供经济适用又同时可以限制自然资源过度使用的新方案。这个22平方米的“小房子”完全由可再生能源提供动力,旨在挖掘最大限度减少自然资源使用的技术潜力。


“合理的住房安排是保持城市可持续性发展的核心”,联合国人居署执行主任Maimunah Mohd Sharif女士说,“使用适当的建筑材料,更好的规划和改进施工技术可以使建筑物的能源使用变得更加高效。如果这种做法被广泛采用,将创造更多的就业机会,在建造繁荣社会的同时减少温室气体排放。”

来源:联合国环境署



06 联合国教科文组织把伯利兹堡礁移出濒危世界遗产名录

伯利兹堡礁是北半球最大的珊瑚礁群落。因为这个珊瑚群不再受人类经济发展的严重影响,联合国教科文组织本周投票通过了将伯利兹堡礁移出世界遗产濒危名录的决议。


由于红树林砍伐和过度开发,伯利兹堡礁于2009年被列入“濒危世界遗产名录”。从那时起,伯利兹政府就暂停了珊瑚礁周围的石油勘探,并对沿海红树林实施了保护。


“在过去的两年里,特别是在去年,伯利兹政府实现了由只追求经济发展,到注重经济与自然平衡的转型。”联合国教科文组织世界遗产中心海洋计划协调员Fanny Douvere高度评价伯利兹政府对珊瑚礁的保护行动。

来源:Independent



07 中国垃圾禁令为全球回收制造困境的同时提供了新机遇

中国禁止从国外进口垃圾(包括一些塑料)的决定在全球范围内引起反响,其他国家的回收业务正在努力应对这一新的现实。中国自1992年以来接收了世界近一半的垃圾,一些专家认为,发达国家最终将独自面对塑料“成瘾”所带来的成本,而不能继续将问题推给中国。


这将刺激各国回收设施方面的投资及制造塑料替代品方面的创新,使更多的产品得以回收利用。它还可以提高公民环保,改变我们的“一次性”文化。


在6月份发表于Science Advances的一项新研究中,佐治亚大学(UGA)的科学家们发现,到2030年,中国的新政策将影响1.11亿吨塑料废弃物。所有这些垃圾将被转移到其它地方。

来源:联合国环境



08 报告显示,水务公司需要采取更多措施来保护环境

尽管近年来环境表现逐渐改善,但水行业在减少严重污染和遵守相关规定方面做得还不够。


但该报告呼吁在2018年及随后几年的水资源保护方面需有更大突破。联合国环境署最近制定了一项新的环境改善计划,并要求供水公司在2020年至2025年之间实行该项计划 --- 这项计划总计需要50亿英镑的投资。虽然大多数公司的表现都被评为良好或优秀,但仍旧存在一些表现拙劣的公司。报告显示西南水务公司和诺森伯兰水公司表现欠佳,仍需努力。


最后,报告提醒人们:我们目前正面临着水质污染和供水紧缺的压力。随着人口的增多和气候的变化,水环境承受的压力在不断增加。公众期望和立法部门的压力,使水务公司不得不采取进一步应对措施并迅速改善。环境署将与各企业

合作,并对其进行监管,以帮助实现更好的环境治理。

来源:GOV. UK




09 新加坡“零垃圾杂货店”帮助解决塑料污染问题

拥有560万人口的新加坡是世界上消费增长最迅速的国家之一。如何确保消费可持续增长依然是一个问题。 2017年,新加坡产生了约780万吨垃圾,其中82万吨是塑料制品垃圾。而产生的所有塑料垃圾中只有6%最终被回收。

在看到一段关于欧洲零垃圾杂货店的视频后,Florence Tay小姐找到合伙人Jeff Lam共同建立了这家商店。 “我是一个实用主义者,”她说,“我意识到我扔掉的垃圾是我消费购买来的,但我并没有完全利用它们。”这一想法促使她思考如何在像新加坡这样的国家中实现无包装,零废弃的杂货理念。

Florence指出,在塑料污染方面,公众意识正在逐渐觉醒。 “目前,新加坡有很多塑料垃圾,人们已经逐渐意识到这个问题。随着意识的加强,他们会逐渐改变生活方式。新加坡很难找到废物替代品,因此我们需要为消费者提供环保的购物选择。“
来源:联合国环境


10. 特斯拉筹备上海电动汽车工厂,生产量将双倍提升

特斯拉首席执行官Elon Musk周二表示,特斯拉将在上海筹办一家新的电动汽车生产工厂,这是特斯拉首次在美国境外开设生产工厂。

新的汽车工厂预计每年生产50万辆汽车,这样特斯拉每年在全球范围内的生产总量将达到100万辆。

上海市政府十分欢迎特斯拉在上海投资新工厂以及设立技术研发部门,并表示会全力支持特斯拉工厂的建设。特斯拉表示,第一批汽车将在两年后下线并投入使用。大约两到三年后,产量将增加到每年50万辆,大致与其在加利福尼亚州工厂的产量相等。
来源:卫报





©2017 The International Fund for China’s Environment All Rights Reserved.

2421 Pennsylvania Ave.NW Washington,DC 20037-1718 USA

TeL 202-822-2141 Email: ifce.adm@gmail.com

INTERNATIONAL FUND FOR

CHINA’S ENVIRONMENT

PROGRAMS


IFCE Global Environmental Weekly Events [7/7 - 7/13/2018]

Release time:2018-07-12

01 Starbucks to Ditch Plastic Straws Globally by 2020 to Help Environment

Starbucks will eliminate plastic straws from its stores globally by 2020, in a nod to the growing push for business to be more environmentally friendly. The Seattle-based company said on Monday it will instead use straws made from other materials, and lids designed not to need straws. The strawless lids will begin to appear in Seattle and Vancouver Starbucks this fall, with phased rollouts within the US and Canada to follow next year.


A global rollout of the strawless lids will follow, beginning in Europe where they will be used in selected stores in France and the Netherlands, as well as in the United Kingdom. McDonald’s also recently said it would switch to paper straws in the UK and Ireland by next year, and test alternatives to plastic straws in some US locations. In February, Dunkin’ Donuts said that it would eliminate polystyrene foam cups from its stores by 2020.

Source: The Guardian

https://www.theguardian.com/business/2018/jul/09/starbucks-eliminate-plastic-straws-globally-2020


02 Hybrid Cars to be Exempted From 2040 Petrol and Diesel Ban

Ministers last year pledged to ban new cars powered by fossil fuels by 2040 but the transport secretary, Chris Grayling, confirmed on Monday that hybrid cars – powered by electricity and diesel or petrol – would be exempt. The government’s Road to Zero strategy to reduce car pollution now includes a further target for at least 50% of new cars to be ultra-low emission by 2030.


However, environmental groups accused the government of weakening its commitments. Greenpeace said the car industry was “yet again being given a free pass” and the targets were weak by international standards. The Campaign for Better Transport said it was disappointing, describing it as “a step backwards, giving concessions to keeping hybrids on the road, which will water down the already inadequate 2040 target”.

Source: The Guardian

https://www.theguardian.com/business/2018/jul/09/hybrid-cars-to-be-exempt-from-2040-petrol-and-diesel-ban


03 China Releases 2020 Action Plan for Air Pollution

China’s new plan for tackling air pollution (published on July 3) is more detailed and covers more cities than the one which expired at the end of 2017 – but it does not set tougher targets than those already in place. The new 2018-2020 Three-year Action Plan for Winning the Blue Sky War (the Three-year Action Plan below) is regarded by many as the second phase of the original air pollution action plan.


The new plan matches the PM2.5 target published in 2016 as part of the 13th Five-Year Plan for environmental protection: mandating falls of at least 18% in PM2.5 levels on a 2015 baseline in cities of prefectural or higher level, and where standards have not already been met. For some cities, the 2016 target to reduce PM2.5 pollution by 18% by 2018 looks too easy. However, cities that have not previously been subject to these action plans, such as Linfen in Shanxi, will be forced to improve their air quality.

Source: ChinaDialogue 中外对话

https://www.chinadialogue.net/article/show/single/en/10711-China-releases-2-2-action-plan-for-air-pollution


04 Marine Wildlife Could Benefit From De-commissioned Oil Rigs
Marine wildlife could benefit if some de-commissioned oil rigs were left on the sea bed, a study says. This challenges the conventional wisdom that the sea bed should be restored to its pristine state when a rig's life ends.

The paper from the University of Technology in Sydney, Australia, is based on a survey of 40 experts from academia, government and consultancies. The paper says over the 30-year lifetime of an oil rig, creatures have often colonized the structure to form a reef. Their focus was on the North Sea - but the authors say the principles are applicable anywhere.

More than 90% of the experts surveyed said governments should abandon the principle that oil rigs should always be removed. Instead, there should be a more flexible, case-by-case approach to de-commissioning. It warns that the process of removing the rigs can be damaging to the environment in its own right.
source: BBC science and environment

https://www.bbc.com/news/science-environment-44726346


05 Yale University Demonstrate How To Make Modern Living Sustainable with New Eco-Housing Module

UN Environment and Yale University in collaboration with UN Habitat today unveiled a new eco-housing module, to spark public discussion and new ideas on how sustainable design can provide decent, affordable housing while limiting the overuse of natural resources and climate change. The 22-square-meter “tiny house” is fully powered by renewable energy and designed to test the potential for minimizing the use of natural resources such as water.


“Adequate housing is at the heart of sustainable urbanisation” said UN-Habitat Executive Director, Ms. Maimunah Mohd Sharif. “The use of proper building materials, better planning and improved construction techniques can make energy use in buildings more efficient. If adopted widely, this practice can create jobs and prosperity with lower greenhouse gas emissions.”

Source: UN Environment

https://www.unenvironment.org/news-and-stories/press-release/un-environment-yale-university-demonstrate-how-make-modern-living



06 Unesco removes largest coral reef system in Northern Hemisphere from endangered list


The Belize Barrier Reef, the largest coral reef system in the Northern Hemisphere, has been removed from the United Nations list of endangered world heritage sites.

Unesco says its heritage committee voted Tuesday to remove the reef from its list of threatened sites because it no longer faced immediate danger from development. Mangrove cutting and excessive development was the main concern when the reef was added to the List of World Heritage in Danger in 2009. Since then, the Belize government has imposed a moratorium on oil exploration around the reef and implemented protections for coastal mangrove forests.

“In the last two years, especially in the last year, the government of Belize really has made a transformational shift,” says Fanny Douvere, the coordinator of the marine program at Unesco’s World Heritage Centre.

Source: Independent

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/belize-barrier-reef-coral-unesco-endangered-a8420566.html


07 China’s Trash Ban Lifts Lid On Global Recycling Woes But Also Offers Opportunity

China’s decision to ban imports of foreign waste, including some plastics, has reverberated around the world, with recycling operations in other countries struggling to deal with the new reality. Some experts argue that developed nations will, at last, have to face up to the true cost of their plastic addiction instead of shipping the problem to China, which has taken nearly half the world’s waste since 1992.


This could spur much-needed investment in domestic recycling facilities as well as innovation in plastic manufacturing to make products more suited to repurposing. It could also invigorate the vociferous public campaign to change our throwaway culture.


In a new study, published in June in Science Advances, scientists from the University of Georgia (UGA) found that 111 million metric tons of plastic waste will be displaced by China’s new policy by 2030. All that rubbish will have to go somewhere else.

Source: UN Environment

https://www.unenvironment.org/news-and-stories/story/chinas-trash-ban-lifts-lid-global-recycling-woes-also-offers-opportunity


08 Water Companies Need To Do More To Protect The Environment, Report Shows

Although there has been a gradual improving trend in environmental performance over recent years, the industry is not doing enough to reduce serious pollution incidents and comply with permits.


Despite some good performances, the report demands far greater progress in 2018 and subsequent years. The Environment Agency has recently set out a more ambitious programme of environmental improvements which water companies will have to make between 2020 and 2025 – totalling £5 billion of investment. While the majority of companies delivered a ‘good’ or ‘leading’ performance, there are some poorer performers – the report reveals an urgent need by South West Water and Northumbrian Water to improve their performance which has seen them rated lowest this year. South West Water are the worst performer on pollution incidents and Northumbrian Water on permit compliance.


The report concludes with a reminder about the pressures on water quality and supply – with a growing population and climate pressures on the water environment, and increased public and legal expectation, water companies need to further rise to the challenge and improve promptly. The Environment Agency will work with and regulate the companies to help achieve a better environment.

Source: GOV. UK

https://www.gov.uk/government/news/water-companies-need-to-do-more-to-protect-the-environment-report-shows


09 Unpacking Plastic Pollution With Singapore’s First Zero-Waste Grocery Store

With a 5.6 million population, Singapore’s consumption trajectory is only set to grow exponentially. But the challenge that remains is how to ensure that consumption is sustainable. In 2017, Singapore generated about 7.8 million tons of waste. 820 thousand tonnes of this was made of plastic wastes. Only 6 percent of all plastic wastes generated was ultimately recycled.


Inspired by a video, Florence Tay saw of a zero-waste grocery store in Europe, she teamed up with her business partner Jeff Lam to set up the store. “I’m a practical person,” she says. “I realized I was throwing away things that I had paid for, but didn’t necessarily consume.” This motivated her to look into how a packaging-free, zero waste grocery concept could work in a city like Singapore.


Florence notes that public interest is slowly rising when it comes to plastic pollution. “Currently, we do have a lot of plastic waste in Singapore, but people are getting more conscious. As people get more conscious, they will slowly change their lifestyle. Zero waste alternatives are not readily accessible in Singapore, so we need to start having options for consumers who can do their shopping without polluting the Earth.”

Source: UN Environment

https://www.unenvironment.org/news-and-stories/story/unpacking-plastic-pollution-singapores-first-zero-waste-grocery-store


10. Tesla to open Shanghai electric car factory, doubling its production

Tesla is to open a new electric car production plant in Shanghai, its first outside the US, chief executive Elon Musk said on Tuesday.

The new auto plant is slated to produce 500,000 cars a year, taking Tesla’s total global manufacturing capacity to 1m vehicles a year. Most automotive factories are tooled to produce 200,000 to 300,000 vehicles a year.

The Shanghai municipal government welcomed Tesla’s move to invest not only in a new factory in the city but also in research and development. It suggested it would help with some of the capital costs saying it would “fully support the construction of the Tesla factory”.Tesla said the first cars would roll off the Shanghai production line about two years after construction begins on the factory. Production will ramp up to 500,000 vehicles a year about two to three years later, roughly matching the planned output at Tesla’s current Fremont, California factory.

Source: The Guardian

https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2018/jul/10/tesla-to-open-shanghai-electric-car-factory-doubling-its-production


©2017 The International Fund for China’s Environment All Rights Reserved.

2421 Pennsylvania Ave.NW Washington,DC 20037-1718 USA

TeL 202-822-2141 Email: ifce.adm@gmail.com