INTERNATIONAL FUND FOR

CHINA’S ENVIRONMENT

项目介绍


【IFCE每周全球环境新闻】8.23-8.30

发行时间:2018-09-04


1.世界上第一个悬浮农场在鹿特丹港市掀起波澜

今年,世界上第一个离岸乳制品工厂在鹿特丹港市开放了, 并促进了当地食品生产的可持续发展性。

有人可能会质疑为何农场会在城镇中央这种最不容易建造的地点运行,但是他们会发现这样建厂能大大缩短农产品变成盘中餐的距离,同时,也减少了因为运输而产生的大量排放的时候,一切都看起来很合理了。

“自从桑迪飓风切断了交通,我看到了人们为了买菜十分辛苦,甚至到后来断粮两天的时候我就知道,农场其实应该与人们的生活距离缩短,才会更加方便。”悬浮农场的创始人Mr van Wingerden 说道。

不仅如此,农场还在努力降低其他的生产垃圾。争取做到重复利用,多回收,将污染减到最低

来源:BBC

https://www.bbc.com/news/business-45130010

研究表明空气污染可能把我们变得“越来越笨

你以为空去污染仅仅伤害我们的身体健康么?错!近日有研究表明长时间暴露在较脏的空气中可能会导致大众,尤其是老年群体的认知水平下降。

“因为污染的空气会是大脑老化严重,影响老年群体做出判断,这样很可能给老年群体带来一系列健康损伤,更甚者在做出与经济方面相关的决定时无法做出正确的判断,从而带来更大的损失”。原作者,北京大学张晓波说道。

不仅仅是对于健康的损害,污染的空气更有可能成为老年痴呆症或其他类型痴呆的诱因之一。“污染的空气除了对认知有所损伤,还可能会影响到人口增长。因此我们完全低估了空气污染对于我们的伤害。我们已经测量出的伤害值可能远比实际的损伤要小得多。“

来源:CNN


https://www.cnn.com/2018/08/27/health/air-pollution-cognitive-abilities-intl/index.html

伦敦各区开始加强低排放区监管

两个伦敦理事会近期规定,在高峰期除最高规格清洁排放车辆以外,禁止上路。以此来解决长久以来的污染危机。

英国新规定只允许超低排放达标车辆,例如电动汽车,电动自行车,混合氢燃料车等可以在高峰时期开上九条指定道路。从9月3日起非低排放达标车辆如果驶入监控区域将面临罚款。“这种‘电动道路’一样开拓性的规则在英国还是头一份儿,这会大大减少在高峰时期的尾气污染,更会增高对于周边学校的空气质量”

哈克尼理事会不仅颁布了禁止法令,同时也对比原有的22的充电点增设了180个电动车充电站。在禁止的同时继续发展清洁能源。

来源:卫报

https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2018/aug/28/london-boroughs-islington-hackney-ultra-low-emission-zones

 

人为天气真的好么?

墨西哥的农民们正式起诉大众汽车随意使用加农炮,放射大型气流强行驱散乌云来减少汽车损伤。这样的行为已经严重影响到农作物的生长周期。在普埃布拉(墨西哥城市),因为企业滥用加农炮,导致当地在雨水充足的季节十分干旱,更甚,干旱持续维持数月导致无法丰收,严重影响当地农民利益。

声波加农炮应用十分广泛,已遍布于50国家,被用于各种领域。例如:机场除雾,减少冰雹对房屋的损伤,增加瀑布流量与积雪覆盖面。令人担忧的是人们仅仅同这种治标不治本的方法改变干旱现象而不是追根溯源,从根本上解决干旱问题。

即使抱怨多多也无法阻止众多国家继续使用这类加农炮“养云”和“散云”

中国正在实施全球最大的“养云”计划为青藏高原布雨。

来源:卫报

变废为宝:废弃塑料变长椅

长达45000英里的沃尔沃海洋比赛不可避免地会用到塑料制品。每次活动都产生超过1000千克的的塑料垃圾。这次一个垃圾回收组织决定将这些垃圾变废为宝,做成一个长凳。

塑料垃圾通常会含有一些金属制品,废物回收厂会进行第一次筛选,然后删除多余的金属,沙粒,石块。最后再次清洗四遍直到没有杂物。洗好的塑料会被做成小型的芯块为之后的回收做出准备。在最后做成这些小球会被做成椅子等回收利用。

通过这项举动,威尔士政府希望各个公司积极响应,将垃圾回收重视起来。

来源:BBC


6.欧洲航天局在处理水资源短缺问题中的角色

水资源是对于这个世界上的生命来说几乎是最重要的资源。但是现今,水资源的污染不容忽视。2018年8月26日至31日,联合国可持续发展目标在斯德哥尔摩举行了年度世界水周的探讨会。

据联合国报道,由于气候变化和其他原因,到2050年,水资源短缺将会影响全世界40%以上的人口。四分之一的人可能生活在一个长期或经常性淡水短缺的环境中。同时,2018年世界经济论坛发布的“全球风险报告”中,将水资源短缺列为社会五大风险之一。

欧洲航天局科学家,本杰明科茨,表示欧洲航天局将运用卫星密切关注土壤湿度和海洋盐度,并为干旱和极端天气事件提供预警系统。例如全球湿地(GlobWetland)就是欧空局利用卫星数据来衡量非洲湿地的生态状况的项目。欧空局与联合国机构,各大发展银行积极配合。为了实现可持续发展,减轻气候变化所带来的负面影响而努力着。

来源:Phys.org


 https://phys.org/news/2018-08-esa-role-easing-scarcity.html


7.英国夏季“风旱”使绿色革命逆转

英国一直致力于低碳创新,开发新型绿色能源,其中主要以开发风能和太阳能为主。今夏,英国因太阳强度增加,而高压的太阳会造成风力资源减少,最终造成“风旱”的现象。


今年夏天国家电网公司的数据显示,风力发电场的数量,相比上一年,增长了10%以上,但供电份额从去年的12.9%下降到今年夏季的10.4%。但是,分析师告诉可再生能源投资者,不要因为今年夏风力不足,而对可再生能源的前景感到担忧。专家还表示,太阳能与风能的高峰值和低峰期是交错发生的。英国需要同时开发这两种技术,以寻求向绿色能源结构转型。


可再生能源环境测量公司Vaisala的主管Pascal Storck表示:“虽然风能和太阳能技术往往相互竞争,但现实情况是,多样化的清洁能源结构可以解决这个问题。”

来源:英国卫报




https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2018/aug/27/uk-summer-wind-drought-puts-green-revolution-into-reverse


8. 中国是臭氧污染的重灾区

中国已经成为臭氧污染的重灾区。最新的报告显示,中国空气中含有损害肺部的有害污染物的含量是欧美日韩的两到六倍。其中一个测量臭氧污染的指标是测量平均臭氧值超过70 ppb(平均8小时)的天数。中国超标的总天数是日本和韩国的两倍,美国的三倍,和欧洲的六倍。


北京大学学者张林表示:“我们发现,在中国东部和中部地区人口最多的地区,一年中有超过60天的地表臭氧水平超过中国国家臭氧空气质量标准。”


研究显示,臭氧不仅会对植物造成危害,对人类的健康也会有不同程度的损害。同时,数据显示,过去五年,中国的每一个臭氧指标都在不断上升。这说明,中国居民和植物生态系统遭受到臭氧侵害的程度越来越严重。严重的臭氧污染是当前中国不可忽视的问题。

来源:Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences




https://cires.colorado.edu/news/china-hot-spot-ground-level-ozone-pollution


9.科学家发现北极的温暖水域或使整个北极冰面覆盖层融化

在加拿大北部的北极海域,冰层之下的温暖水域有可能使整个海域变成无冰区域。科学家发现,原本应在数百英里以外的温暖水域,现已渗透到北极冰层以下。耶鲁大学和伍兹霍尔海洋研究所的研究人员,通过多年的数据研究,发现该地区的“热含量”在过去的30年里翻了一倍。


北极地区的变暖速度是全球平均水平的两倍。根据美国国家海洋和大气管理局的报告,该地区的气候极端数据近来来一次又一次的突破最坏纪录。去年北极地区冬季海冰覆盖率达到最低值,这是有记录以来第二温暖的冬天


北极地区变暖会对居住在极地地区的人和动物造成了严重的影响。北极变暖不仅影响了阿拉斯加西部居民的狩猎和捕鱼活动,也对该地区的北极熊和海豹的生存造成严重影响。

来源:Independent


https://www.independent.co.uk/environment/arctic-sea-ice-melting-warm-water-trapped-polar-canada-yale-university-perfect-a8513176.html


10.洛杉矶的胡佛大坝的能源理念可能面临历史性瓶颈

洛杉矶计划投入30亿美金购买一个20英里的大型地下抽水蓄能系统。这个系统就像一个存储电力的巨大电池,为胡佛水坝提供储水功能。


有两个原因导致了洛杉矶想要进行此项计划。首先,米德湖的水位由于长期干旱而持续下降。该湖的低水位影响了胡佛大坝的正常运作的。其次,加利福尼亚州打算在全州范围内,削减化石燃料的使用,增加可再生能源的利用。风能太阳能虽然是很好的资源,但是波动较大,利用储水来功能是一个很好的选择。


但该计划同时也被业内人士之一。首先,将一个20英里的大型地下抽水蓄能系统运到胡佛水坝需要投入极大的人力物力,甚至会影响当地的生态环境。其次,科罗拉多州的河流水量正在持续减少。气候科学家预测未来该州的河流供水大幅削减。

来源:US News



https://www.usnews.com/news/best-states/articles/2018-08-29/commentary-los-angeles-hoover-dam-energy-idea-may-face-historic-hurdles





©2017 The International Fund for China’s Environment All Rights Reserved.

2421 Pennsylvania Ave.NW Washington,DC 20037-1718 USA

TeL 202-822-2141 Email: ifce.adm@gmail.com

INTERNATIONAL FUND FOR

CHINA’S ENVIRONMENT

PROGRAMS


IFCE Global Environmental Weekly Events [8/23 - 8/30/2018]

Release time:2018-09-04



1.The world's first floating farm making waves in Rotterdam

The world's first offshore dairy farm opens in the Port of Rotterdam this year, with the aim of helping the city produce more of its own food sustainably.

Built-up urban areas may not seem like the most sensible places to run farms, but reducing the distance food travels before it reaches consumers' plates makes environmental sense as it reduces transport pollution.

"Seeing the devastation caused by Hurricane Sandy I was struck by the need for food to be produced as near as possible to consumers," says Mr van Wingerden.

The farm also aims to reuse and recycle as much as it can

Source:BBC

https://www.bbc.com/news/business-45130010



2.Air pollution is making us dumber, study shows

Air pollution could be more damaging to our health than previously thought, according to a new study, which found that prolonged exposure to dirty air has a significant impact on our cognitive abilities, especially in older men.

The damage air pollution has on aging brains likely imposes substantial health and economic cost, considering that cognitive functioning is critical for the elderly to both running daily errands and making high-stakes economic decisions," study author Xiaobo Zhang of Peking University said.

Cognitive decline or impairment, which could be caused by air pollution according to the study, are also potential risk factors in developing Alzheimer's disease or other forms of dementia.

"The damage on cognitive ability by air pollution also likely impedes the development of human capital. Therefore, a narrow focus on the negative effect on health may underestimate the total cost of air pollution," Zhang said. "Our findings on the damaging effect of air pollution on cognition imply that the indirect effect of pollution on social welfare could be much larger than previously thought."

Source: CNN

https://www.cnn.com/2018/08/27/health/air-pollution-cognitive-abilities-intl/index.html



3. London boroughs to impose ultra-low emission zones

Two London councils are to ban all but the cleanest vehicles from some areas at peak times to help tackle the city’s air pollution crisis.

In the UK’s first scheme of its kind, only ultra-low emission vehicles such as electric cars, e-bikes, and the newest hybrids and hydrogen vehicles will be allowed on nine streets in Hackney and Islington from 7am-10am and 4pm-7pm on weekdays.

From 3 September, drivers of petrol, diesel and older hybrid vehicles will incur a fine if they travel into the CCTV-monitored areas.

“This ground-breaking proposal for ‘electric streets’ – the first of its kind in the UK – will priorities low pollution transport such as electric cars and cut polluting vehicles during peak hours in the streets surrounding Central Foundation Boys school in Islington – the most polluted state secondary in London.”

The ban on polluting vehicles comes as Hackney council announced plans to install around 180 electric vehicle charging points, in addition to the existing 22 across the borough, in the next year.

Source: the Guardian

https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2018/aug/28/london-boroughs-islington-hackney-ultra-low-emission-zones

 

4. 'Rain dancing 2.0': should humans be using tech to control the weather?

Farmers in Mexico have accused Volkswagen of ruining their crops by installing “hail cannons”, which fire shockwaves into the atmosphere in an effort to prevent hail storms from damaging the cars rolling off the production line.

The devices are being blamed for causing a drought during months when farmers near the German carmaker’s plant in Puebla expected plenty of rain.

It’s done in more than 50 countries worldwide for various reasons including dispersing fog at airports, reducing property damage from giant hailstones in Canada and to increase snowfall in Colorado and summer rainfall in Texas.

Critics are concerned that manipulating the weather is only treating the symptoms of drought rather than tackling the underlying causes.

That hasn’t stopped states and businesses from continuing to seed clouds, in some cases on a dizzying scale. The Chinese government is developing the world’s most ambitious cloud seeding project to boost rainfall across the Tibetan plateau, an area spanning 620,000 sq miles – three times the size of Spain.

Source: the Guardian

https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2018/aug/26/rain-dancing-20-should-humans-be-using-tech-to-control-the-weather

5. How plastic waste has been turned into benches

Volvo Ocean Race is a 45,000 miles race around the world which using plastic is not avoidable. Over 1000kg of plastic was collected onboard and at the event in Cardiff. The aim was to turn it into something more useful and long lasting.

A nearby factory helped to recycled it. Plastic is often contaminated with other material, so first it’s shredded. Rocks sand and metals are removed. Later washed again. Four times. The pellets are later used to make everything from building materials and then benches.

The Welsh government wants companies here to "lead the charge" on plastic recycling.

Source: BBC

https://www.bbc.com/news/av/uk-wales-45276311/how-plastic-waste-has-been-turned-into-benches

6.ESA's role in easing water scarcity

Water is the most significant resource for life on the earth. Unfortunately, water scarcity and pollution leave a lot of negative effects on the whole world, which could not be neglected by the public. From 26–31 August 2018 in Stockholm, the United Nations' Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) successfully hold the annual World Water Week, focusing on water scarcity.

According to the UN data, there are more than 40% of the global population will be influenced by the water scarcity issue, in 2050. A quarter of the worldwide community may live in a long-term water shortage country. Meanwhile, the World Economic Forum's listed water scarcity as one of five most significant risks to the world in its Global Risks Report.

Benjamin Koetz, a scientist at the European Space Agency (ESA), mentioned that ESA continually works with environmental data through satellites for providing an early-warning system for extreme weather issues. For example, GlobWetland is a project that ESA use satellites to collect information about the ecological status of African wetlands. Additionally, ESA cooperates with the UN agencies and development banks to push forward several innovative projects for achieving sustainable development goal.

Source: Phys.org

 https://phys.org/news/2018-08-esa-role-easing-scarcity.html



7.UK summer 'wind drought' puts green revolution into reverse

The UK is seeking to develop new clean power, especially wind energy and solar, to reduce the utilization of coal.  However, this summer, sunny skies leads to the “wind drought” phenomenon which means that turbine blades sit around and wind systems cannot function in normal mode.


As compared to the wind farm capacity of last year, the total numbers of the wind farm are increased by 10%, but the wind farm capacities have dropped from 12.9% to 10.4%, based on National Grid show. However, analysts state that it is not necessary to worry about development prospects of the renewable-energy business. Also, scientists mention that those two energies are complementary, meaning solar lows coincided with wind highs. Experts believe that integrate solar and wind energy is an efficient way to solve this problem.


Pascal Storck, director of renewable energy at environmental measurement firm Vaisala, said: “Although solar and wind energy are two competitive renewable energy, integrating those new renewable energies is important for the UK to update a diverse energy mix. ”

Source: The Guardian



https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2018/aug/27/uk-summer-wind-drought-puts-green-revolution-into-reverse


8. China is Hot Spot of Ground-Level Ozone Pollution

China is hot spot of ground-level ozone pollution. According to the newest assessment, the level of substances released into the air in China is two to six times than that in Europe, the United States, Japan, and South Korea. One indicator of the ground-level ozone pollution is that measuring the total number of days with daily maximum average ozone values (8-hour average). In China, the total number of days with over 70 ppb average ozone values (8-hour average) is is higher than that in other countries.


Zhang Lin, experts at Peking University, said:“ in eastern and central China, the total number of days with over 70 ppb average ozone values (8-hour average) is over 60, which is much higher than the national standard. ”


Ozone pollution not only damages to plants but also has a negative influence on human. However, ozone pollution in China has increased in the past five years, based on several ozone pollution indicators. It is a serious environmental issue, which could not be neglected by China.

Souce: Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences


https://cires.colorado.edu/news/china-hot-spot-ground-level-ozone-pollution




9.Scientists find pocket of warm water trapped under Arctic with potential to melt entire ice pack

In northern Canada, warm water trapped under Arctic with potential to melt entire ice pack. Scientists find that the warm water is original from hundreds of miles away, but the warm water has permeated into Arctic area. According to data from Yale University and Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, researchers state that the “heat content” of this area has increased by more than 50% in the past 30 years.


The speed of warming in the Arctic is twice than the average rate of global warming. Based on the US National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration’s report, the data of extreme weather has broken through worst records in recent years.


The global warming damages to the life, including human and other animals in Arctic area. It leaves a negative influence both on the region’s polar bears and seals and all kinds of human activities.


Source: Independent

https://www.independent.co.uk/environment/arctic-sea-ice-melting-warm-water-trapped-polar-canada-yale-university-perfect-a8513176.html



10. Los Angeles’ Hoover Dam Energy Idea May Face Historic Hurdles

Los Angeles plans to buy a 20-mile system to store water power. The scheme aims to save water power for Hoover Dam’s electrical turbines generate, like a giant battery.


There are two motivations for Los Angeles to purchase this system. Firstly, the water level of Lake Mead has continually decreased in recent years which damages to the normal function of Hoover Dam’s electrical turbines generate. Secondly, California state government encourage utilizing new clean power instead of using coal. Meanwhile, water power is more stable, as compared to other clean energies, such as solar and wind energy.


However, there are also some considerations about this plan. At first, the cost of transporting a 20-mile system to be connected to Hoover Dam is high. Moreover, building a giant system may result in a severe effect on the local environment. Furthermore, the water level of Colorado has continually declined. It seems not a right time to build a considerable store water power system in Colorado.

Source: US News


https://www.usnews.com/news/best-states/articles/2018-08-29/commentary-los-angeles-hoover-dam-energy-idea-may-face-historic-hurdles


©2017 The International Fund for China’s Environment All Rights Reserved.

2421 Pennsylvania Ave.NW Washington,DC 20037-1718 USA

TeL 202-822-2141 Email: ifce.adm@gmail.com