INTERNATIONAL FUND FOR

CHINA’S ENVIRONMENT

项目介绍


【IFCE每周全球环境新闻】8.31-9.6

发行时间:2018-09-17

1.脱欧后,英国的环境监管机构无力监控气候变化

环保主义者指责英国政府通过脱欧来削弱环保条例。英国退欧之后将会重新组建机构,以取代欧洲委员会。然而,英国的环境监管机构将不会拥有监管气候变化权力。


英国最大的环保组织之一的绿色英国, 对于监管机构的遗漏气候变化的相关政策表示担心。英国约55%的减碳计划与欧盟的法规相关联,并且将由欧盟委员会执行。英国之前欧盟成员的身份保证了其施和执行减排。脱欧不应该影响了英国在气候变化方面的领导地位。


E3G的董事Shane Tomlinson表示:“英国公众应该拥有能够执行气候政策并确保我们的承诺成为现实的牙齿监督机构”。现在这一问题已经交由英国能源与工业战略部处理。

Souce: 英国卫报



https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2018/sep/02/green-watchdog-powerless-climate-change-post-brexit


2.不正确使用遥控飞行拍摄器对野生动物危害大

野生动物学家近日越来越担心遥控飞行拍摄器会打扰野生动物们的休息。在苏格兰,他们发现有一些遥控飞行拍摄器太过于接近一些繁殖鸟类,这不仅会影响他们呢交配更会伤害到他们。海豹们因为害怕遥控飞行拍摄器拼命躲进海里撞到保护区域网,导致掌心破裂。更有正在悬崖上筑巢的鸟类因为惊吓而垂坠跌落谷底身亡的案例。


苏格兰野生动物保护协会呼吁大家遵守法律,学会正确使用遥控飞行拍摄器。


苏格兰野生动物保护委员会官员 Andy Turner 说道:“某一些又飞行器拍下的画面十分壮观,但是同时我们不能忽视它对野生动物们的生活所带来的影响。某一些捕食鸟类会将飞行器看作敌人从而互相攻击导致‘两败俱伤’。我们希望今后所有希望使用飞行拍摄器的人员与我们事先进行联系,接受培训并取得相应的资格证。”

来源:BBC



3.联合国合约将保护公海避免过度开发

在纽约,联合国发布了第一个保护公海的条约。

在公海,离岸边较远的海域真在遭受过度捕捞,开采的折磨。在接下来的两年中,政府代表将苦心钻研出一份具有约束力的协议去保护海洋资源免于过度开发。但是众多国家(包括美国)对这项提案十分冷淡。

专家相信海洋对人们是至关重要的。海洋负责吸收90%的多余热量和26%的二氧化碳。

“地球一半以上是由公海组成的,并且公海在帮助我们抵御更糟糕的天气环境”牛津大学教授Alex Rogers 这样说道。

所以公海到底是什们呢?公海是不隶属于专属经济区的海域,通常来讲距离海岸线370km。公海覆盖面是陆地面积的1.5倍。所有国家有权在上空飞行,探测海洋或做科学研究。

那么这个条约如何帮助保护环境呢?一般来讲新条约有三个重要因素。 首先这些海洋保护条约可以在任何海域实行,其次这个条约可以帮助评估有可能的伤害。另外可以帮助其他正在发展中国家在公海中获取共同利益,从而促进海洋保护。

来源:BBC



4..研究指出全球尤其是澳大利亚正在经历环境剧变

一个新的研究指出如果我们继续在这样无视环境危机,全球环境,尤其是澳大利亚在接下来的百年中将会有一次巨大变革。

法国新闻报社AFP 报道到,在美国西南海岸,大型的山火正在将绵延的松柏林变成贫瘠的灌木丛。环境变化已经在悄然进行了。在接下来的100-150年中,尤其在欧洲与美国之间,这些变化会蔓延到热带稀树草原,沙漠和林地,并威胁到野生植物和动物的生存空间

大量的燃烧室友,柴炭资源会导致大量的热量释放。地球温度也在逐年增高。大量的水土流失不仅仅会影响到植被覆盖率,更多的会影响到饮用水,河流水位和水的自我再生能力。在这之上森林面积的减少也会加快全球变暖的脚步,保护地球的碳汇也会逐渐消失。

来源:ECO news




5.发展中的巴西正在为地球环境增加负担

巴西是最大的大豆,鸡肉,牛肉出口国,同样,也是猪肉与玉米的主要生产国之一。

路透社表示巴西的成功有一部分取决于低价格的农业市场和土地征用费。在过去的十年中巴西农民在塞拉多大量发展。政府表示自2008年来已经损失了105000平方千米原始土地。这个数字是同一时期的亚马逊森林流失率1.5倍,按着这样的速度塞拉多将比热带丛林更快消失。

塞拉多同样包含二氧化碳气体。有研究证实二氧化碳含量与地球整体温度成正比。很多专家表示地球已经因为大量的使用碳元素,石油资源而变得不堪负重。巴西政府强调“我们应该遵守2016巴黎协定,这样才能使得我们远离全球变暖”

大量的植物流失会导致水资源减少,这样同时会影响花鸟鱼虫,甚至破坏整条生态链造成不可磨灭的后果。

来源:VOA





6.浪费的食物=污染了环境

人类真的太善于浪费食物了。 有些食物在农场因为形状不规整就已经被处理掉了,有一些因为运输问题还没上货架就被扔掉了。在超市中这样的事情也是屡见不鲜,通常食品会被放置到快过期才有人想起来去处理。当然,这些这些都是作为消费者无法控制商家行为,但是我们也可以做到先以身作则保护环境。

不可否认我们都有把蔬菜放在冰箱里直到坏的经历。通常情况下我们也不会100%吃掉我们买来的食物,总有一些被我们不经意间浪费掉了。

全球总疗伤,我们几乎会浪费掉1/3的加工食物。不好的消费习惯和过于夸张的标注保鲜日期是消费者们基本无法避免的。所以最后我们总是能在冰箱或者餐桌的角落发现腐烂掉的食物,或者明明食物是完好的,但是因为包装上的保质期显示过期了而感到害怕把它们扔进了垃圾桶。

来源:Popular Science



7.高山生态系统难以从空气污染中恢复过来

一项研究表明,高山生态环境经过长期人为造成的氮气污染,因自身的恢复能力是有限的,高山生态系统难以从污染中恢复过来。即使经过十年的低氮处理,土壤酸化的情况和生物多样性的问题都无法改善。


在过去的两个世纪中,农业和工业活动增加了全球氮排放水平。之前的研究表明,氮对水质,土壤酸度和生物多样性有负面影响。近年来,美国和欧洲大部分地区的氮排放率已经放缓,但在发展中国家的氮排放率仍在增加。


研究结果表明,人为的氮污染可能已经融入高山生态系统,并阻碍其恢复。这个发现对于制定环境法规和污染标准是极其重要的。科罗拉多大学生态与进化生物学系教授William Bowman说:“氮污染的后续影响很大,我们的研究表明需要敏感氮衡量标准来减少高山环境负面的影响”。

来源:Environmental New Network





https://www.enn.com/articles/55310-alpine-ecosystems-struggle-to-recover-from-air-pollution


8.“艺术可以发挥重要作用”:气候变化装置出现在纽约

作为气候信号装置的一部分,太阳能公路标志已被安置在纽约的五个行政区。这些装置用英语,西班牙语,俄语和法语标识着“气候变化正在发生”或者“否认气候有危害”一类的警示语。


该气候变化的装置的设计理念来源于公路标示。当人们看到公路警示牌时,第一反应是前方出现了事故,应该提高警惕。所以,将太阳能公路标志安置在纽约,就是为了唤起人们对于气候变化的意识。


纽约市首席抵御能力官丹尼尔•扎里利(Daniel Zarrilli)表示:“气候变化是纽约市面临的最大挑战之一,需要创造性的方法来教育和吸引所有人去了解气候变化。 艺术可以在这项工作中发挥重要作用。”

来源:英国卫报




https://www.theguardian.com/artanddesign/2018/sep/04/climate-signals-climate-change-installation-new-york


9.世界上最大的海上风电场投入使用

位于英格兰西北海岸的世界上最大的海上风电场,周四开始发电。该电场足以为590,000个家庭供电。能源和清洁部部长Claire Perry表示,这个巨大的海上风电场帮助英国巩固了全球领导地位,打破了生产可再生能源的记录,并创造了数千个高质量的工作岗位。


可是,尽管英国是海上风能的全球领导者,英国近年来对可再生能源的投资大幅下降。根据全球风能理事会的数据,英国拥有世界上最大的海上风电容量。 2017年,英国海上风电场的容量超过6,800兆瓦,比其竞争对手德国多1,300兆瓦。


但彭博社分析显示,在2018年的前六个月,英国的清洁能源总体投资下降了50%以上,而全球仅下降了1%。自2015年以来,英国对可再生能源的投资每年都在下降。

来源:CNN News



https://www.cnn.com/2018/09/06/uk/largest-offshore-wind-farm-irish-sea-intl/index.html


10. 亚马逊红树林的碳含量是该地区热带雨林的两倍

新研究表明,亚马逊大片的红树林每公顷的碳储量是该地区热带森林的两倍。因红树林具有极强储存碳的能力,所以其可以用来减缓气候变化等问题。最新研究显示,因红树林生长的湿地环境保证了红树林极强的储碳的能力 这能缓解温室效应等气候问题。


然而,亚马逊红树林的储碳的能力被威胁。首先,当地人为了经济效益砍伐森林,亚马逊湿地生态环境受到威胁。同时全球气温上升导致湿地因蒸发速度加快,储存红树林碳的能力也在下降。 其次,红树林被大面积砍伐的会释放出大量的温室气体,加剧了气候的恶化。

来源:Ecowatch



https://www.ecowatch.com/amazon-mangroves-climate-change-2602201519.html





©2017 The International Fund for China’s Environment All Rights Reserved.

2421 Pennsylvania Ave.NW Washington,DC 20037-1718 USA

TeL 202-822-2141 Email: ifce.adm@gmail.com

INTERNATIONAL FUND FOR

CHINA’S ENVIRONMENT

PROGRAMS


IFCE Global Environmental Weekly Events [8/31 - 9/6/2018]

Release time:2018-09-17



1.UK’s green watchdog will be powerless over climate change post-Brexit

Environmentalists concern the UK government weak environmental regulations by using withdrawal of EU. The UK government will restructure its domestic institution for edging out the European Commission. However, the government leaves out climate change policy, leading to its green watchdog will be powerless over climate change.

Greener UK, the biggest environmental organizations in the UK, assume that green watchdogs pay limited attention to climate change policy. Before the Brexit, the European Commission plays a significant role in the UK’s environmental regulations. For example, there are  55% of the UK’s carbon reduction projects and plans are enforced by the European Commission. The membership of the European Union guarantees the implementation of those carbon reduction projects. Furthermore, the UK government need to maintain its essential role in global climate change area post-Brexit.


Shane Tomlinson who is the director at E3G said: “The UK public deserves to have a green watchdog, enforcing climate policy and ensuring the UK’s pledges become reality.” Currently, this issue has been undertaken by the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS).

Souce: The Guardian


https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2018/sep/02/green-watchdog-powerless-climate-change-post-brexit



2.Fears over protected wildlife disturbed by drones

Protected wildlife being disturbed by drones. They say some drones are being flown dangerously close to breed Police and wildlife experts are becoming "increasingly concerned" at the number of cases of ing birds and animals at sites in Scotland. Seals have reportedly been chased into the sea at protected haul-out sites, which risks their pups being crushed. Concerns are also being raised about nesting birds becoming panicked and plummeting off cliffs into the sea.

The Partnership for Action Against Wildlife Crime (PAW) Scotland said it is important drone operators understand the law. Some sites are given a special status which makes disturbance - even accidentally - a crime.


Andy Turner, wildlife crime officer with Scottish Natural Heritage (SNH)"While the footage from drones in these circumstances can be very spectacular, the operator must be mindful of the effect on wildlife. "Birds of prey in particular can see drones as a threat and act aggressively towards them, causing both injury to themselves and damage to the drone.  "We would encourage anyone wishing to film wildlife with a drone to contact SNH for advice and, if necessary, apply for a license."

Source: BBC

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-scotland-45361654


3.UN treaty would protect high seas from over exploitation

The first significant steps towards legally protecting the high seas are to take place at the UN in New York.

These waters, defined as the open ocean far from coastlines, are threatened by deep-sea mining, over-fishing and the patenting of marine genetic resources.

Over the next two years, government representatives aim to hammer out a binding agreement to protect them against over-exploitation.

But several nations, including the US, are lukewarm towards the proposals.

Experts believe that the oceans of the world are vital for a number of reasons. Scientists say they capture around 90% of the extra heat and about 26% of the excess carbon dioxide created by humans through the burning of fossil fuels and other activities.

"The half of our planet which is high seas is protecting terrestrial life from the worst impacts of climate change," said Prof Alex Rogers from Oxford University, UK, who has provided evidence to inform the UN treaty process getting under way on Tuesday.

The high seas are defined as the oceans that lie beyond exclusive economic zones. These zones are usually within 370km (200 nautical miles) of a country's coastline. These waters cover one and a half times the total land area of the planet and are home to some of the rarest and most charismatic species - but all countries have the right to navigate, fly over, carry out scientific research and fish on the high seas without restriction.

There would be three likely elements to any new treaty. Firstly, it would allow the setting up of Marine Protected Areas in international waters - something many countries have already done in their own jurisdictions. A new pact would also allow the carrying out of environmental impact assessments to guard against potential harm from activities on the high seas. In addition, a new, legally binding deal would allow poorer countries to benefit from any discoveries developed from marine genetic resources.

Source:BBC

https://www.bbc.com/news/science-environment-45397674


4.Study warns ‘major transformation’ ahead for Earth’s ecosystems

A new scientific study warns that if the world continues on a “business-as-usual” trajectory on climate change, global ecosystems including Australia’s will undergo a “major transformation” over the next century.

The French newsagency AFP reports some of these changes are already under way in the south-western United States, where massive wildfires are destroying pine forests and transforming swaths of territory into shrub land.

In the next 100-150 years, these changes will likely extend to savannas, deserts, and woodlands, upsetting ecosystems and imperilling plant and animal life, particularly in areas like Europe and the United States, the researchers warned in the journal Science.

The burning of fossil fuels like oil and coal emits heat-trapping gases around the planet. The Earth is currently heating up at much quicker pace.

Shifting landscapes would affect not only the forests, but drinking water, river flow, and water recreation.
And the loss of forests could unleash even faster global warming, because important carbon sinks would disappear.

Source: ECO news

http://econews.com.au/58607/study-warns-major-transformation-ahead-for-earths-ecosystems/





5.Development in Brazil Putting Earth’s Environment at Risk

Brazil is the largest exporter of soybeans, chicken and beef in the world. It is also a major producer of pork and corn.

The Reuters news agency says Brazil’s success is partly a result of low prices for farm land and permissive land-use policies.

Over the past 10 years, Brazilian farmers have been developing large parts of the Cerrado. The government says the area has lost more than 105,000 square kilometers of its native plant cover since 2008. That number represents 50 percent more land than the deforestation seen during the same period in the Amazon. Based on relative size, the Cerrado is disappearing nearly four times faster than the rainforest.

The Cerrado is also rich in carbon dioxide gas. Studies have linked rising levels of carbon dioxide to rising temperatures in Earth’s atmosphere. Many scientists blame the increase on deforestation and use of coal, oil and other fossil fuels.

Brazilian officials say protection of native plant life is important to meeting the country’s goals under the 2016 Paris Agreement on climate change. But scientists say industrial farming in the Carredo could hold back Brazil's efforts and worsen global warming.

Liliana Pena Naval is an environmental engineering professor at the Federal University of Tocantins. She told the Associated Press that the removal of plants can cause bodies of water to disappear.

Thousands of plants, fish, insects and animals are also affected. Many of these species are only beginning to be studied.

Source: VOA

https://learningenglish.voanews.com/a/reuters-development-in-brazil-putting-earth-s-environment-at-risk/4552573.html



6.Charted: Here's how much your food waste hurts the environment

Our species is pretty good at wasting food. Some we discard at the farm for being undersized or oddly shaped. Others we allow to decay in their shipping containers, thrown away before they even reach shelves. We leave even more foodstuffs wasting away in grocery stores, often by letting it sit there until it reaches its sell-by date. As consumers, we don’t have much control over most of the process that brings our food to the grocery store, but we do have control over how much food we personally waste.

Let's face it: We’ve all found liquified lettuce in our veggie drawers. Don't fret. It's arguably impossible to consume 100 percent of the food we buy. But a healthy reminder of the effect food waste has on the environment might help us all to be more conscious of the amount of food we eat—and don't eat.

Globally, we fail to use about a third of all food produced for human consumption. The FAO cites both bad “purchase planning” and “exaggerated concern over ‘best-before dates’” as reasons for the significant wastage on the consumer ends in affluent countries. That is, we buy too much food and let it rot in our homes before we get around to eating it, or we throw out perfectly good food because a printed date says it’s expired. Historically, it’s been difficult to figure out just how much impact any specific food has on the environment.

Source: Popular Science

https://www.popsci.com/wasted-food-environment-impact#page-2



7.Alpine ecosystems struggle to recover from air pollution

A study has shown that alpine ecosystems have been influenced by nitrogen pollution. Unfortunately, the alpine ecosystems struggle to recover from air pollution because of the limitation its resilience.


In the past two centuries, alpine ecosystems contaminated with nitrogen pollution originating from increased agricultural and industrial activities. Previous research has shown that nitrogen pollution has a negative effect on water, soil acidification, and biodiversity. Recently, the U.S. and Europe pay attention to decrease the level of nitrogen emissions. However, the developing countries continually increase the level of nitrogen emissions.


The findings indicate that the adverse effects of nitrogen deposition have got into alpine ecosystems, impeding its recovery, which is a significant factor for setting environmental regulations.


William Bowman, a professor in CU Boulder’s Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (EBIO), said: “the legacy of the impacts of nitrogen pollution is strong, and our results emphasize that sensitive standards are needed to minimize enduring environmental impacts.”

Source: Environmental New Network



https://www.enn.com/articles/55310-alpine-ecosystems-struggle-to-recover-from-air-pollution



8.Art can play a valuable role': climate change installations appear in New York

Solar-power climate change installations have been set up in New York. Those installations send climate change warning information, such as “Climate change at work” and “Climate denial kills,” in English, Spanish, Russian and French.


The design philosophy of the climate change installations is flashing traffic signal. When people see a flashing traffic signal, people could realize there is an accident or emergency in ahead road. Then, people will be more careful about the traffic. Thus, these climate change installations aim to arise in the public awareness of climate change.


Daniel Zarrilli, New York City’s chief resilience officer, said: “Climate change is one of the most significant New York’s challenges. Creative solutions and ideas can attract people’s more attention to understanding climate change. Art can play a valuable role in warming climate change.”

Source: The Guardian



https://www.theguardian.com/artanddesign/2018/sep/04/climate-signals-climate-change-installation-new-york




9.World's largest offshore wind farm opens in Irish Sea

World's largest offshore wind farm in the Irish Sea opens on Thursday. The product of this farm, Walney Extension, could provide electric power to 590,000 homes. Claire Perry, Minister at Energy and Clean Growth, states that the outcome of this vast offshore wind farm breaks the previous record for renewable energy product, helping the UK maintain its standing role in global leadership. Meanwhile, this farm creates thousands of job opportunities for the British.


However, the investment of renewable energy in the UK has declined in recent years, although the UK sets up a leader status in offshore wind energy. Based on the Global Wind Energy Council, the offshore wind capacity of the UK is much larger than that of other countries. The UK has a capacity of over 6,800 megawatts which is 1,300 more than Germany.


Nevertheless, the UK’s investment of renewable energy has declined by more than 50% in 2018, but the percentage of the global fall is just 1%. Since 2015, the UK’s investment of renewable energy has continually fallen every year.

Scouce: CNN News

https://www.cnn.com/2018/09/06/uk/largest-offshore-wind-farm-irish-sea-intl/index.html



10.Amazon Mangroves ‘Twice as Carbon Rich’ as Its Rainforests

A new study shows that the carbon of Amazon Mangroves stores twice times than that of the region’s rainforests. The strong store ability of Amazon Mangroves makes Amazon Mangroves play a significant role in climate change issue. According to the latest study, the wetland, growing environment of Amazon Mangroves, is a crucial factor to guarantee strong store carbon ability, which is an efficient solution to face the greenhouse effect issue.


However, environmental degradation hurts Amazon Mangroves storing carbon ability. At first, Amazon Mangroves have been felled because of economic benefits. Meanwhile, the evaporation rate of wetland has increased as global temperature rises apparently, which decreased the Amazon Mangroves storing carbon ability. Furthermore, the large-scale deforestation of mangroves releases a number of greenhouse gases, aggravating the greenhouse effect.

Souce: Ecowatch

https://www.ecowatch.com/amazon-mangroves-climate-change-2602201519.html



©2017 The International Fund for China’s Environment All Rights Reserved.

2421 Pennsylvania Ave.NW Washington,DC 20037-1718 USA

TeL 202-822-2141 Email: ifce.adm@gmail.com