INTERNATIONAL FUND FOR

CHINA’S ENVIRONMENT

项目介绍


【IFCE每周全球环境新闻】9.13-9.20

发行时间:2018-09-25

1.Prickly cactus species 'under threat'

尽管加大了全球监控力度,仙人掌仍旧是非法盗猎者和非法贸易团伙的 “香饽饽”。国家公园,印第安人保留区与众多野外仙人掌都有着非常严重的损害。保护仙人掌刻不容缓。


接近2000种仙人掌科植被有着非常严格的生长条件,在不适宜的条件下,植被会变得非常脆弱 不容易存活。Pail Rees, 皇家植物园的热带植物培育家表示:“仙人掌科已经是全球几大濒危植物之一”


根据美国野生植物保护学者的发现,因为一些人对植被的狂热追求和收藏,不断挖掘仙人掌并找到稀有物种导致仙人掌被大量破坏。现在对仙人掌的破坏已经达到了史无前例的高峰。同时,一些毒枭发现机会,利用一些仙人掌的药用价值来换取或兑换新的毒品。仙人掌以第三的高位,仅次于毒品与枪支,成为墨西哥地区最多的走私货品之一。

来源:BBC


https://www.bbc.com/news/science-environment-45438733


2.孕妇胎盘中发现空气污染颗粒

科学家在近期发现了第一例通过母体将空气污染物质传染给孩子的案例。在巴黎,欧洲国际呼吸系统国际会议上,一个研究显示,在五位英国孕妇检测中找到了从肺部进入胎盘的烟尘颗粒。

欧洲呼吸协会主席 Mina Gaga 博士补充到: 这项新的研究表明了空气污染可能对孕妇及新生儿的威胁,我们可以可以采取一些保护机制。


这项研究还在初级阶段,但是之前的研究很明确地指出将孕妇暴露在严重的空气污染重会使得新生儿死亡率增高,早产,体重偏轻。


在2017年12月,联合国儿童基金会报告显示接近1亿7千万一岁以下儿童生活在污染之中,是世界标准的六倍。

来源:CNN



https://www-m.cnn.com/2018/09/17/health/placenta-pollution-babies-intl/index.html?r=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.cnn.com%2Fspecials%2Fus%2Fenergy-and-environment


3.工业设计可成为减少塑料使用新渠道

在1950年,全球共计生产塑料8.3亿万吨。接近80%被掩埋,倒入海中或郊区地域。 在2050年,预计海洋将不堪重负,垃圾总量将超过鱼类。


在历史上,工业设计是一大部分问题的根源。塑料一开始被誉为不可思议的材料。于是在工业设计上被大量运用。但直到人们对环境污染问题的重视,塑料才开始被回收,重新利用。


现在设计领域对于环保的强调还是初级阶段。更多的设计师开启自己的工作室运用跟过环保材料。相对于原来,为了节省成本而利用不环保资源的大型生产厂商减少了更多的浪费,作品质量也有所提高。

现在人们意识到了这个问题,kartell,一位艺术先锋,即使运用的所有材料都是可回收的,他也拒绝运用可回收塑料。“运用原汁原味的材料才能保证作品质量,只有保证材料的纯净才能达到我们想要的效果。”

设计是很多领域的灵魂,环境保护也不例外,我们可以用设计的力量为环保做出贡献。

来源:CNN


https://www.cnn.com/style/article/recycled-plastic-design-london-design-fair/index.html



4.天气变化导致飓风等天气灾难恶化

极端天气经常被认为是气候变化的前兆。不幸的是台风“弗洛伦萨”完美的诠释了这一现象。整颗星球,尤其是这十年来变得越来越热。气候变得越来越不稳定,越来越多的恶劣天气出现。有一些小变化微不足道,有一些可以帮助消除飓风等现象,但是大部分还灾难性的变化。

认为制造的温室气体在大气冲产生能量不均衡。 根据美国国家海洋气象协会,接近90%的多余热量被温室气体困在海洋中。海洋表层温度上升,已经被作为测量全球变暖的重要指标。

美国国家海洋气象协会在北卡,赖茨维尔海滩等重要海域发现水平线比正常值高出4英尺。在这样的情况下飓风有更大的机会带来二次灾害。

来源:CNN

https://www.cnn.com/2018/09/19/us/climate-change-hurricane-florence-wxc/index.html


5.为防止冰川融化,科学家建议在海平面上建筑隔绝墙

冰面融化日渐加速,在海平面上建造隔绝墙可能是下一个减缓冰面融化的新项目。


研究员相信,通过增加海底沙子与石头的堆积,可以减缓海底冰川的位移,同时避免冰川掉进更深的海沟之中。这将会大大减缓冰川融化时间,同时对组织气候变化有着很大的贡献。


虽然这个想法听起来不太易懂,但是从设计上来看还是十分合理的。“我们决定用非常简单的结构,很容易的排列方式来实行这个计划”普林斯顿大学地理学研究院Michael Wolovick说到,“如果成功将是一个壮举”


这个设计理念不仅仅防止冰川融化同时防止海底底部水温升高。新研究表示水温过高将会加速冰川融化,海岸线上涨危机到各大岛国安全。


来源:The Gardian



6.德国推出世界上第一辆氢动力列车

德国推出了世界上第一辆氢动力列车,这标志着德国开始以更昂贵但更环保的技术取代柴油列车。由法国制造商阿尔斯通建造的氢动力列车于周一开始在德国北部运行。该62英里长的路线原本是用来运行柴油列车的。


阿尔斯通首席执行官Henri Poupart-Lafarge表示,“世界上第一辆氢气列车正在进入商业服务阶段,并准备进行批量生产。”


同时,基于氢气列车配备燃料电池,使得蒸汽和水成为唯一的排放物。因此阿尔斯通认为该技术是非常环保的环保的柴油替代品 。阿尔斯通项目经理Stefan Schrank提到,“当然,购买氢气列车比柴油列车贵一些,但运行成本更低。”

Source: 英国卫报


https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2018/sep/17/germany-launches-worlds-first-hydrogen-powered-train


7.俄亥俄州啤酒厂生产看起来像藻类的绿色啤酒

Maumee Bay 酿酒公司推出了一款看起来像藻类的绿色啤酒。制造绿色藻类啤酒想法是源于去年夏天,该酿酒厂旁边的小溪里流入了许多绿色藻类。 这个位于俄亥俄州的啤酒厂希望通过推出这款啤酒来引起人们对于保护水环境的重视。


Maumee Bay 酿酒公司的经理Craig Kerr说:“我们将一直生产这款啤酒,直到藻类不再存在为止。我们的最终目标是永远不再制作这种啤酒。”


酿酒商正在积极的用啤酒吸引民众关注环境政策,增加了群众对于保护国家水道的讨论。同时,与自然资源保护委员会合作,游说反对废除奥巴马时代的清洁水规则,旨在减少湖泊和河流中的污染源。

Source: 英国卫报


https://www.usnews.com/news/healthiest-communities/articles/2018-09-17/a-green-beer-that-looks-like-algae-its-all-for-clean-water


8.太空视角下的地表冰层

美国航天局已经将激光射入轨道,以测量地表冰层的状况。这个卫星任务被称为ICESat-2。该任务旨在提供更准确的地表冰层信息,从而研究这些冰冻表面如何受到全球变暖的影响。


近几十年来,覆盖在南极洲和格陵兰岛冰都已经减少了。美国宇航局ICESat-2副项目科学家Tom Neumann博士表示,极地发生的大部分变化都可能以非常微妙的方式呈现,因此需要一个非常精确的工具来正确表征它。而ICESat-2将从距离地球约500公里的有利位置跟踪的冰层变化的细节。


同时ICESat-2可以帮助生成南极洲第一个海冰厚度图。目前,评估浮冰的技术实际上只适用于北极地区。因此南极洲至今没有海冰厚度图。而ICESat-2卫星任务填补了这个空缺。

来源:BBC News


https://www.bbc.com/news/science-environment-45523524


9.特朗普政府改写了奥巴马时期的条例为了对加强温室气体

特朗普政府已完成重写奥巴马政府关于公共土地排放甲烷的规定,但新版“废物预防规则”与原始版本一样具有争议性。美国内政部表示,重新编写的规则将消除公司运营中的的复杂性和降低高昂的运营成本。但环保组织抨击新规对环境有害,并指出甲烷对气候变化的影响远远大于二氧化碳。


该规则的当前版本允许石油作业在公共土地上排放气体或者燃烧物料。奥巴马政府呼吁要求生产商收集这些排放气体而不是仅仅的排放,并且,将根据不同的排放量收取不同的排放费用。目前,内政部官员拒绝透露改写后的规则如何影响气体排放量。他们表示,这些细节将在未来几天公布。


环境保护基金对重写的废物预防规则提出质疑。该基金指出这是一个无力的联邦条规,一个专注研究联邦土地问题的机构“西方价值项目”也认为该决定是“以纳税人为代价来安抚企业”。

来源:CNN News


https://www.cnn.com/2018/09/18/politics/blm-methane-rule/index.html


10.德里计划用巨塔清理雾霾

由迪拜建筑事务所Znera Space设计的“烟雾项目”是一项雄心勃勃的设计,旨在净化世界上雾霾污染最严重的城市之一德里的空气。这些好似出现在科幻小说中的巨塔将出现在印度德里的上空。


德里的公民遭受着严重的雾霾污染。 在2017年末,空气质量最差的时候,德里的居民遭受的雾霾侵害相当于每天吸44支香烟。世界卫生组织的数据显示,印度的城市占据了全球空气污染最严重城市排行榜的前20。


巨塔清理项目是利用空气从塔底流入,在向上释放的过程中,通过五级过滤来净化空气。同时这些巨塔理应清洁能源太阳能氢电池供电,不使用传统燃料。设计师们说,巨塔除了提供清洁的空气外,在空气过滤中捕获的碳颗粒还可二次利用,用于石墨烯,混凝土,肥料,油墨等炭制品的制作。

来源:CNN News


https://www.cnn.com/style/article/znera-air-filter-tower-delhi/index.html





©2017 The International Fund for China’s Environment All Rights Reserved.

2421 Pennsylvania Ave.NW Washington,DC 20037-1718 USA

TeL 202-822-2141 Email: ifce.adm@gmail.com

INTERNATIONAL FUND FOR

CHINA’S ENVIRONMENT

PROGRAMS


IFCE Global Environmental Weekly Events [9/13 - 9/20/2018]

Release time:2018-09-25


1.Prickly cactus species 'under threat'

Despite the international ban on uncontrolled trade in cacti, policing the smuggling faces many problems and semi-professional hunters continue to uproot plants to order, stealing from National Parks, Indian Reservations, but more significantly from the wild.


many of the approximately 2,000 identified Cactaceae species have a very restricted range which make them vulnerable. "Cactaceae are considered one of the most threatened plant groups in the world," according to Paul Rees, who is in charge of the tropical nursery at the Royal Botanical Gardens, Kew.


According to wildlife conservationists in the United States, cacti are being dug up at an ever accelerating rate for zealous collectors looking for niche species。 Additionally narco-tourists are mining desert regions for small, psychotropic peyote plants and so feeding the market for mind-altering drugs.


Cacti now rank just below drugs and guns as the most popular goods smuggled out of Mexico, according to conservationists.

Source: BBC

https://www.bbc.com/news/science-environment-45438733



2.Air pollution particles found in mothers' placentas, new st

Scientists believe they have discovered the first examples of air pollution traveling through the lungs of pregnant women and into their placentas, potentially reaching their fetuses.


The study, presented at the European Respiratory Society International Congress in Paris, examined the placentas of five pregnant women in the United Kingdom and found that sooty particles had made their way into their placentas.


Dr. Mina Gaga, president of the European Respiratory Society, added that "this new research suggests a possible mechanism of how babies are affected by pollution while being theoretically protected in the womb."


The research is at an early stage, but the findings build on previous research highlighting links between the exposure of pregnant mothers to air pollution and infant mortality, premature birth and low birth weight.


A report published by UNICEF in December 2017 said almost 17 million babies under the age of one live in areas where pollution is at least six times higher than international limits.

Source: CNN


https://www-m.cnn.com/2018/09/17/health/placenta-pollution-babies-intl/index.html?r=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.cnn.com%2Fspecials%2Fus%2Fenergy-and-environment



3.Can design solve the world's plastic problem?

It's estimated that, since the 1950s, humanity has produced 8.3 billion tons of plastic. Almost 80% of this is sitting in landfill, or has been left to clog our seas, cities and countryside. By 2050, it is predicted plastic in the ocean will outweigh fish.


Historically, design has been a huge part of the problem, from the graphic design that lauded this miraculous material in early adverts to the product specifications that render some unrecyclable; from packaging design to industrial waste in manufacturing.

The most ambitious efforts remain largely at grassroots level, with emerging design studios leading the way, rather than the established furniture brands that have historically been responsible for elevating the desirability of clear, clean, first-use plastic in design. The recent anti-plastic movement puts them under unique pressures.

While all of the pieces are recyclable, Kartell does not use recycled plastic. That, Luti says, will not change. "(Recycled plastic's) final output does not guarantee the quality and perfection we want to achieve for our product," she explains. "The raw material must be pure in order to have quality processing."

Design is front and center in each instance. In collaboration with science and engineering, we may design ourselves out of the problem after all.

Source:CNN

https://www.cnn.com/style/article/recycled-plastic-design-london-design-fair/index.html




4.Climate change is making storms like Hurricane Florence worse

Extreme weather events are often pointed to as harbingers of what is to come,thanks to manmade climate change. Unfortunately, Hurricane Florence, like Hurricane Harvey last year, is an example of what climate change is doing to storms right now. The planet has warmed significantly over the past several decades, causing changes in the environment in which extreme weather events are occurring. Some are small and inconsequential, and some -- such as increased wind shear that tears apart hurricanes, could actually be beneficial. But there can be destructive consequences.

Human-caused greenhouse gases in the atmosphere create an energy imbalance, with more than 90% of remaining heat trapped by the gases going into the oceans, according to the National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Association. Ocean heat content, a measure of the amount of heat stored in the upper levels of the ocean, is a key indicator of global warming.

The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's tide gauge at Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina, surged more than 4 feet above the normal high as the storm was making landfall, breaking a record set by Hurricane Joaquin in 2015 by more than a foot.

Source:CNN

https://www.cnn.com/2018/09/19/us/climate-change-hurricane-florence-wxc/index.html



5.Build walls on seafloor to stop glaciers melting, scientists say

Building walls on the seafloor may become the next frontier of climate science, as engineers seek novel ways to hold back the sea level rises predicted to result from global warming.


By erecting barriers of rock and sand, researchers believe they could halt the slide of undersea glaciers as they disintegrate into the deep. It would be a drastic endeavour but could buy some time if climate change takes hold, according to a new paper published on Thursday in the Cryosphere journal, from the European Geosciences Union.

 

Though the notion may sound far-fetched, the design would be relatively straightforward. “We are imagining very simple structures, simply piles of gravel or sand on the ocean floor,” said Michael Wolovick, a researcher at the department of geosciences at Princeton University in the US who described the plans as “within the order of magnitude of plausible human achievements”.

 

The structures would not just be aimed at holding back the melting glaciers, but at preventing warmer water from reaching the bases of the glaciers under the sea. New research is now being undertaken by scientists showing how the effects of the warmer water around the world, as the oceans warm, may be the leading cause of underwater melting of the glaciers.

Source:The Gardian.


https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2018/sep/20/build-walls-on-seafloor-to-stop-glaciers-melting-scientists-say



6.Germany launches world's first hydrogen-powered train

Germany launches world's first hydrogen-powered train, signing that Germany tries to use more expensive but more environmental technology to replace diesel trains. On Monday, the hydrogen-powered train, which is designed by Alstom, starts to run in a 62-mile route, a stretch generally plied by diesel trains, in northern German.


Henri Poupart-Lafarge,  Alstom CEO, said: “ The eco-friendly train is in the commercial service status, designing for serial production.” Alstom believes that the hydrogen-powered train is an eco-friendly replacement for traditional diesel trains. Because steam and water are the only emissions of the hydrogen-powered train, based on a combination design of hydrogen and oxygen.


Stefan Schrank, the project’s manager at Alstom, said: “of course, buying a hydrogen train costlier than a diesel train, but the cost of running a hydrogen train is lower than that of a diesel train. ”

Source: The Guardian

https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2018/sep/17/germany-launches-worlds-first-hydrogen-powered-train



7.Ohio Brewery Makes Green Beer That Looks Like Algae

Maumee Bay Brewing Co. made a ghastly-looking "Alegae Bloom" beer. The idea of creating a beer is camped up in last summer, because toxic algae that show up in a creek alongside the Maumee Bay Brewing Co. This company, which is located in Ohio, hope to build a link between the public and the environmental debate through its products.


Craig Kerr, manager at Maumee Bay Brewing Co., said: “We plan to keep making the ghastly-looking "Alegae Bloom" beer until the Algae Bloom issue has been solved. The goal is that never make this kind of beer in the future. ”


The brewers, like Maumee Bay, try to attract the public attention to the environmental debate through their products, increasing public discussion about environmental issues. Meanwhile, some brewers cooperate with the Natural Resources Defense Council to against the repeal of an Obama-era clean water rule for reducing the pollution in lakes and rivers.

Source: The Guardian

https://www.usnews.com/news/healthiest-communities/articles/2018-09-17/a-green-beer-that-looks-like-algae-its-all-for-clean-water



8.ICESat: Space will get unprecedented view of Earth's ice

The American space agency will get an unprecedented view to measure the condition of Earth's ice cover through launching a laser into orbit. The aim of this satellite mission, called ICESat-2, is that collecting the more precise information about Earth’s ice for understanding how global warming influence the Earth's ice cover.


Recent decades, the ice cover of Antarctica and Greenland has declined billions of tonnes. Dr. Tom Neumann, Nasa's ICESat-2 deputy project scientist, mentioned that most of the ice change is precise and quite subtle. Thus, monitoring the condition of Earth's ice cover requires an accurate tool. Furthermore, ICESat-2 meets all requirements of tracking all changes in unprecedented detail of ice from some 500 km above the planet.


Meanwhile, ICESat-2 can build the first maps of sea-ice in the Antarctic. Currently, the technique for monitoring sea-ice only works in the Arctic. Therefore, ICESat-2 can help scientists fill this gap.

Source: BBC News

https://www.bbc.com/news/science-environment-45523524




9.Trump administration rewrites Obama-era rule for potent greenhouse gas

Trump administration rewrites the Obama-era Waste Prevention Rule to regulate the new level of methane emissions in public land. However, the new vision of Waste Prevention Rule is a controversial regulation, like the old vision. The Interior Department mentioned that rewrites Waste Prevention Rule could decline the complexity of oil operation and reduce the cost of the oil company. Unfortunately, the environmental organization accuses the new vision of Waste Prevention Rule damage current air environment because methane has a more significant adverse effect on global warming.


Currently, the Waste Prevention Rule to allow oil operation to burn and release in the public environment. Obama administration requires the producers to snatch the gases instead of wasting them. Moreover, the different level of gas emissions requires the producers to pay different amounts of fine. Furthermore, Interior Department officials refuse to provide more details about how new rules influence the gas emission. They explained the more information would be published in the coming days.


The Environmental Defense Fund describes the IBM rules as “a weak federal framework.” Meanwhile, Western Values Project, advocating on federal land issues, mentions this new rule is that pacifying industry with the cost of the taxpayer."

Source: CNN News

https://www.cnn.com/2018/09/18/politics/blm-methane-rule/index.html




10.Giant towers proposed to clean Delhi's toxic smog

Delhi plans to solve smog issue through building several giant towers. The Smog Project designed by Dubai-based architecture firm Znera Space. These giants look like only occurs in science fiction, but they will be built in Delhi in reality.


Delhi's citizens suffer from dangerous smog pollution. At the end of 2017, the residents at Delhi breath the smog was equivalent to smoke 44 cigarettes per day. According to the data of the World Health Organization, Indian cities are the top 20 in the most-polluted cities ranking.


Giant towers projects plan to utilize giant towers to clean air. To be more specific, the polluted air inflows at the base of a tower, then the dirty air will be cleaned inside the tower through five stages of filtration. Meanwhile, solar hydrogen cell system will power these Giant towers instead of traditional fuel. Also, Giant towers can capture Carbon, which has been collected through the five stages of filtration, to produce Carbon products such as graphene, concrete, fertilizer, and ink.

Source: CNN News

https://www.cnn.com/style/article/znera-air-filter-tower-delhi/index.html


©2017 The International Fund for China’s Environment All Rights Reserved.

2421 Pennsylvania Ave.NW Washington,DC 20037-1718 USA

TeL 202-822-2141 Email: ifce.adm@gmail.com