INTERNATIONAL FUND FOR

CHINA’S ENVIRONMENT

项目介绍


【IFCE每周全球环境新闻】9.21-9.27

发行时间:2018-10-02

1. 研究表示电可以去除废水中的药物残留


科学家表示利用脉冲电晕放电(PCD)技术可以有效地从废水中去除有害物质,例如药物残留物。

来自芬兰拉彭兰塔理工大学(LUT)的研究人员进行的试验表明,因为该过程是非选择性的,药物残留物,其变体和其他类似化合物很容易从废水中降解。在这种现象中,大气中的水分子和氧气会产生强氧化剂,使有机化合物降解为水和二氧化碳。

该研究检查了等离子体 - 液 - 气界面上氧化剂的形成及其在该过程中的行为。
该研究还表明,药物物质的瞬时重组可以被认为是纯化过程中反应链的正常部分。
然而,它使不同技术的比较更加困难,并突出了非选择性过程的重要性。


该结果提供了关于节能氧化的重要新信息,这在该技术的进一步发展方面也是重要的。该过程的效率取决于温度,流速,延迟以及该过程在废水处理链中的位置。

来源:Eco news



http://zeenews.india.com/environment/electricity-can-remove-drug-residues-from-wastewater-study-2100526.html


2.四个你并未发觉的环境污染物品

你可能并没发觉,平日使用的一次性刮毛刀可能会是你的浴室中最大的废物来源。估价与高用水量和碳密集型塑料和钢铁生产有关。为了达到可持续发展的环境目标,我们可以使用电动剃须刀或剃须刀。


当我们谈论浴室里的废物时,我们很难想到牙刷对环境污染的“贡献”。
与一次性剃须刀的影响非常相似的是,仅在北美,每年就有大约10亿支牙刷进入垃圾填埋场。每个人需要400多年才能分解!
与塑料牙刷不同的是,竹制牙刷100%可生物降解。它们同时具有抗菌功效,因此可以保护牙齿免受细菌侵害还保护环境,何乐而不为呢。


床垫睡旧了都会及时处理,但是如果处理不当,可能会对环境造成伤害。
多年来,旧床垫收集尘螨,死皮细胞,以及每年睡觉时出汗的平均26加仑汗液。想象一下这种细菌野兽对你的室内空气质量所造成的伤害。
在选择新床垫的时候,可以考虑有机材料,它们由100%天然材料制成,可减少化学品输出。


茶的好处是毋庸置疑的。不幸的是,你的茶包确实对环境有着大威胁。如果你每天喝一杯茶,你每年都会在垃圾填埋场里的数百个茶包做出“贡献”。试着多喝一些散装茶叶,减少包装垃圾。

来源:Blue& Green Tomorrow


https://blueandgreentomorrow.com/spend/5-surprising-household-items-that-hurt-the-environment/


3.英国第一架空气过滤巴士在南安普敦运行

英国最大之一的公共汽车和铁路运营商推出了该国首个空气过滤巴士,以解决空气污染问题。

Go-Ahead集团周四在南安普敦推出蓝星公交车,声称连接在车顶的新过滤系统将在城市周围运行同时清洁空气。

Go Ahead首席执行官大卫布朗说:“我们正在进一步挖掘公交车积极清洁环境的潜力。这是我们环境领导力的巨大突破,我们也很自豪能够在英国成为这个领域的榜样。”
柴油公交车配备了一个特别设计的过滤器,发明者称这种过滤器可以清除空气中的超细颗粒,并在公共汽车穿过街道时捕获它们。过滤器也可以帮助公共汽车吹出更多纯净的空气,将这套设备“双面/双倍利用”。

布朗表示,由于世界卫生组织透露该城市已经接近处于不安全的空气污染标准,南安普顿被选为首波推广地域。它也是负责制定政府空气污染计划的五个城市之一。布朗表示,如果试验成功,它可以推广到Go Ahead的5000多辆公交车队。

来源:英国卫报



https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2018/sep/27/uks-first-air-filtering-bus-launches-in-southampton

 

4.新加坡,马来西亚机构在年会上就环境与浪费进行探讨

新加坡和马来西亚政府机构周四(9月27日)在两个邻国的部长的带领下,就柔佛海峡的排放,水质,化学品泄漏应急响应和环境培训计划进行了讨论。


新加坡部长Masagos Zulkifli和马来西亚能源,科学,技术,环境和气候变化部长Yeo Bee Yin女士表示,尽管10月初在缅甸举行了区域会议,但他们并未讨论东盟跨界雾霾协议。
“我们不采取双边合作来解决多边问题,”马萨戈斯先生谈到这项协议,该协议是对近年来印尼棕榈油种植园露天焚烧的回应,在这期间种植园仍笼罩在该地区的浓烟中。


两国同意定期举行联合实地演习,以测试其应急计划的有效性,以应对马来西亚 - 新加坡第二个十字路口和柔佛海峡的化学品泄漏事件。他们还讨论了柔佛海峡的土地复垦工程及其对环境的潜在不利影响。


会议还看到了对“零浪费”的深入讨论,马来西亚研究是否可以应用新加坡的一些想法。
杨女士表示,挑战在于实施“循环经济”,产品可以反复使用,“随着人口增长,我们最终拥有的废物净产量可以降低”。Masagos先生表示,新加坡已经采取了与公众“共同创造解决方案”的战略,例如利用技术使他们能够简单地分离废物。


在与马来西亚水,土地和自然资源部长Xavier Jayakumar的非正式会议上,Masagos先生还讨论了柔佛河的联合水文模拟研究,该研究首先由李显龙总理和马来西亚总理Najib Razak在第八届新加坡宣布。该研究旨在帮助提高灵丘水库的水量和节约供水。

来源:The Straits Times

https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/se-asia/singapore-malaysia-agencies-talk-environment-and-waste-at-annual-meeting

5.欧洲环境署:汞仍然是“重大风险”

欧洲环境署(欧洲经济区是欧盟的一个机构,为参与制定,采用,实施和评估环境政策的人以及公众提供“关于环境的独立信息”。)在本月发表的一份报告中称,汞继续对环境和人类健康构成重大风险。

虽然新排放的主要来源是燃煤,但环境中大约一半的汞来自欧洲以外。

报告称,这种物质在河流,湖泊和海洋中构成风险最大。有毒物质会被海洋生物吸收,最后只留在肉中。饮食安全会面临威胁。(该报告名为Mercury in Europe的环境 - 欧洲和全球行动的优先事项,该报告可通过EEA网站免费获取。)


新的欧盟汞法规于7月生效。


来源:Chemical Watch

https://chemicalwatch.com/70609/european-environment-agency-mercury-still-a-significant-risk


6.美国国家公园受到气候变化的影响

加州大学伯克利分校和威斯康星大学麦迪逊分校的研究表明,随着气候变化的加剧,美国国家公园变得比全国其他地区更加炎热和干燥。


研究表明,如果不采取行动限制温室气体排放,许多小型哺乳动物和植物可能会在本世纪末濒临灭绝。分析显示,在过去的一个世纪里,国家公园的平均温度增长速度是全国其他地区的两倍,国家公园的年降雨量也减少的比全国其他地区的多。


“值得注意的是,即使我们真的有效的减少了温室气体,国家公园的温度仍可能升高两度,”威斯康星大学麦迪逊分校地理学教授约翰威廉姆斯说。 “冰川国家公园的冰川很可能最终还是会消失。这一危机表明了控制气候变化水平的重要性。与此同时,国家公园应该增加宣传环境变化对于国家公园发展的影响,教育群众关注环境问题。

来源:phys.org


https://phys.org/news/2018-09-national-brunt-climate.html


7.科学家发现植物废物可转化为汽油

比利时鲁汶大学已经成功研发出将植物废料转化为汽油的方法。由此技术所生产的工业纤维素汽油为第二代生物燃料。


鲁汶大学生物工程系教授Bert Sels解释说,“我们使用植物废弃物,例如植物木屑,经过一系列化学工艺制造,生产出一种完美的石化复制品。这种方式制造出来的最终成品和化石汽油的区别只有碳-14年代测定才能检测出来


研究人员在他们的实验室中建立了一个化学反应器,用来小规模的生产纤维素汽油。 研究员Aron Deneyer说到:“现在该技术最大的问题就是,如何将其整合并可以大量生产。”

来源:Environmental News Network



https://www.enn.com/articles/55554-ready-to-use-recipe-for-turning-plant-waste-into-gasoline

8.研究预测美国气候变化将带来的经济损失

研究人员首次研发了一个套数量指标,以衡量全球近200个国家排放对经济的危害。过去的研究侧重于研究富裕的国家如何从化石能源的经济获利,而负面影响主要由发展中国家承担。因气候变化而遭受经济损失的国家里,排名前三的国家分别是美国,印度和沙特阿拉伯。中国是世界上最大的二氧化碳排放国,其面临着经济损失,位列全球前五。


研究结果表明,气候治理领域存在一些矛盾的现象。美国和印度等国家是被气候变化威胁最多的国家,这些国家理应在气候问题上发挥领导作用,但是国际气候问题治理的领导者却一直都是欧盟。


理解气候变化对经济的影响有助于促进气候领域的国际合作。作者总结道,许多国家尚未认识到气候变化带来的风险,然而,更清楚地了解气候变化的危害可以促进各国采取行动来减缓气候变化。

来源:phys.org


https://phys.org/news/2018-09-nations-economic-climate.html

9.你对关于塑料的所有认知都是错误的

我们所有人都被洗脑并接受了关于“回收”故事:只要我们将塑料垃圾分类,那么就会有一群善良的人采取神奇的方式让这些塑料垃圾消失,并且不会产生任何负面后果。而事实则是,我们的环境并没有得到改善,空气污染变得越来越严重。


回收并不是有效的解决塑料污染的办法。因为塑料制品不像玻璃,是不能被无限回收利用的的。而且塑料是由原油制成的,在生产过程中会产生碳排放,污染周围区域,具有环境破坏性极强,危害人们的健康。


如果想要真正解决塑料污染问题,政府必须考虑如何减少或停止塑料生产。例如立即禁止一次性塑料,或至少征收高额的税收。

来源:Independent


10.研究发现液态金属镓可做净水过滤器

研究人员革命性的利用液态金属镓来制造廉价净水过滤器,可以在几分钟内将重金属污染水转变为安全饮用水。


这项研究的作者发现,在室温下,将铝添加到液态镓芯中,镓的表面会快速生成一层氧化铝。这些氧化铝制作的纳米片具有多孔性,它们可以快速的过滤重金属离子和油污染物。这种新型液态金属制造工艺成本低。无法获得清洁饮用水的人可使用这种便携式过滤器,在几分钟内去除铅等其他有毒金属。


新南威尔士大学Kourosh Kalantar-zadeh教授说:“我们正在将这一新概念发布到公共领域。全世界的人们都可以免费使用和实施这一理念,以提高他们的生活质量。”

来源:Science daily


https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2018/09/180925140522.htm





©2017 The International Fund for China’s Environment All Rights Reserved.

2421 Pennsylvania Ave.NW Washington,DC 20037-1718 USA

TeL 202-822-2141 Email: ifce.adm@gmail.com

INTERNATIONAL FUND FOR

CHINA’S ENVIRONMENT

PROGRAMS


IFCE Global Environmental Weekly Events [9/21 - 9/27/2018]

Release time:2018-10-02


1.Electricity can remove drug residues from wastewater: Study


London: Harmful organic substances, such as pharmaceutical residues, can be efficiently removed from wastewater using only electricity, say scientists who tested a process called pulsed corona discharge (PCD).

Pilot tests by researchers from Lappeenranta University of Technology (LUT) in Finland showed that pharmaceutical residues, their variants and other similar compounds degrade easily from wastewater because the process is non-selective.In this phenomenon, water molecules and oxygen in the atmosphere create strong oxidants which degrade organic compounds into water and carbon dioxide.

The study examined the formation of oxidants on the plasma-liquid-gas interface and their behaviour in the process.The study also revealed that the momentary reformation of pharmaceutical substances can be considered a normal part of the reaction chain in the purification process.

It nevertheless makes the comparison of different technologies more difficult and highlights the importance of a non-selective process.

The results gave important new information on energy efficient oxidation, which is significant also in terms of the further development of the technology.

The efficiency of the process depends on temperature, flow rates, delays, and the location of the process in the wastewater treatment chain

Source: Eco news

http://zeenews.india.com/environment/electricity-can-remove-drug-residues-from-wastewater-study-2100526.html


2.4 Surprising Household Items That Hurt The Environment

Unfortunately, your morning shave can contribute to the biggest source of waste in your bathroom.Razors are associated with high water usage and the carbon-intensive production of plastic and steel. To have a more sustainable shave, invest in an electric or straight razor.


While we’re talking about waste in the bathroom, we should mention the environmental evils of your toothbrush.

Measuring up pretty closely to the impact of disposable razors, an estimated 1 billion toothbrushes end up in a landfill each year in North America alone. And each one takes over 400 years to decompose!


Bamboo toothbrushes are 100% biodegradable. They are also antimicrobial, so your teeth will be protected from bacteria

An old mattress is bad for your health, your bedroom, and it could hurt the environment if improperly disposed of.


Over the years old mattresses collect dust mites, dead skin cells, and the average 26 gallons of sweat you perspire each year sleeping. Imagine the damage you’re doing to your indoor air quality with this bacteria beast.

When it’s time to look for a new mattress, shop the organic section. These are made of 100% natural materials and reduce chemical output.

The benefits of tea are unquestionable. A warm cup of tea at night can help you sleep, improve your weight loss, and even give you better dental health. Unfortunately, your tea bags are not composable and pose a threat to the earth. If you drink a cup of tea every day, you’re contributing to hundreds of tea bags sitting in a landfill each year.


The benefits of tea are unquestionable. A warm cup of tea at night can help you sleep, improve your weight loss, and even give you better dental health. Unfortunately, your tea bags are not composable and pose a threat to the earth. If you drink a cup of tea every day, you’re contributing to hundreds of tea bags sitting in a landfill each year.


Source:Blue& Green Tomorrow

https://blueandgreentomorrow.com/spend/5-surprising-household-items-that-hurt-the-environment/



3.UK's first air-filtering bus launches in Southampton

One of the UK’s largest bus and rail operators has launched the country’s first air filtering bus in an effort to tackle air pollution.

 

The Go-Ahead Group unveiled the Bluestar bus in Southamptonon Thursday claiming that the new filtration system attached to the top of the vehicle will clean the air as it moves around the city.

 

Go Ahead chief executive, David Brown said: “We are going a step further in the potential for our buses to actively clean the environment. It’s a huge development in our environmental leadership and we are also proud to be pioneering the prototype in the UK.”

The diesel bus is fitted with a specially designed filter that its inventors say will remove ultra-fine particles from the air and trap them as the bus moves through the streets. The filter then allows the bus to blow out more pure air so that the air behind it is cleaner than that in front of it.

 

Brown said Southampton had been chosen for the prototype as the World Health Organization revealed that the city is at its limit of unsafe air pollution. It is also one of five cities tasked with drawing up air pollution plans by the government. Brown said that if the trial is successful it could be rolled out to Go Ahead’s entire fleet of more than 5,000 buses.

Source:Thr Guardian

https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2018/sep/27/uks-first-air-filtering-bus-launches-in-southampton

 

4.Singapore, Malaysia agencies talk environment and waste at annual meeting

PUTRAJAYA -  Singapore and Malaysia's government agencies engaged in discussions over emissions, water quality in the Johor Strait, emergency responses for chemical spills and environmental training programmes on Thursday (Sept 27), led by ministers from the two neighbouring countries.

Singapore Minister Masagos Zulkifli and Ms Yeo Bee Yin, Malaysia's Energy, Science, Technology, Environment and Climate Change Minister, said they did not discuss the Asean transboundary haze agreement, despite a regional meeting set for early October in Myanmar.

"We don't work bilaterally to address a multilateral issue," Mr Masagos said of the agreement which was a response to open burning in Indonesia's palm oil plantations which shrouded the region in thick smoke in recent years.

Both countries agreed to hold regular joint field exercises to test the effectiveness of their emergency response plan to deal with chemical spills at the Malaysia-Singapore second crossing and the Johor Strait. They also discussed land reclamation works at the Strait of Johor and their potential adverse impact on the environment.

The meetings also saw deep discussion in moving towards "zero-waste", with Malaysia studying whether it can apply some of Singapore's ideas.

Ms Yeo said the challenge was to implement a "circular economy" where products can be repeatedly reused so "the net production of waste that we eventually have can be reduced as we cope with an increasing population".

Mr Masagos said that Singapore has pursued a strategy of "co-creating solutions" with the public, such as using technology to make it simple for them to separate waste.

In an informal meeting with Malaysia’s Water, Land and Natural Resources Minister Xavier Jayakumar, Mr Masagos also discussed the joint hydrometric modelling study of Johor River, which was first announced by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong and then Malaysian PM Najib Razak at the eighth Singapore-Malaysia Leaders’ Retreat in Singapore in January.

The study is intended to help increase the water yield and conserve supply at the Linggiu Reservoir, which discharges water into the Johor River. Singapore buys its water from Johor under a 1962 agreement.

Source: The Straits Times

https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/se-asia/singapore-malaysia-agencies-talk-environment-and-waste-at-annual-meeting

5.European Environment Agency: mercury still a 'significant risk'

Mercury continues to present a significant risk to the environment and human health, the European Environment Agency said in a report published this month.

While the main source of new emissions is coal burning, about half of the mercury deposited in the environment comes from outside Europe.

The substance, the report says, poses the biggest risk in rivers, lakes and oceans where it takes a highly toxic form that is absorbed by animals, including fish.

Entitled Mercury in Europe’s environment – A priority for European and global action, the report is available for free via the EEA’s website.

The EEA is an agency of the European Union that gives "independent information on the environment for those involved in developing, adopting, implementing and evaluating environmental policy, and also the general public".

A new EU mercury Regulation came into force in July.

Source: Chemical Watch

https://chemicalwatch.com/70609/european-environment-agency-mercury-still-a-significant-risk

6.National parks bear the brunt of climate change

A new UC Berkeley and University of Wisconsin-Madison study show that U.S. national parks become hotter and drier than the rest of the nation because of human-caused climate change.


This study states that many small mammals and plants are heading for extinction by the end of the century if human continually fails to limit the emissions of greenhouse gas. In the past century, the increased rate of average temperature of national parks is twice times than that of the rest of the nation. Meanwhile, the yearly rainfall in national parks decreased more than that in the rest area of the U.S.


John Williams, a professor of geography at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, said: there will be a two-degree change in the temperature of national parks, although human efficiently limits the emissions of greenhouse gas. Glacier National park will ultimately disappear. I think the national parks services need to introduce the effect of climate change on national parks and educating the public to concern about the environmental issues.


Source: phys.org

https://phys.org/news/2018-09-national-brunt-climate.html



7.Ready-To-Use Recipe for Turning Plant Waste Into Gasoline

Bioscience engineers at KU Leuven find a ready-to-use recipe for turning plant waste into gasoline. This skill can produce a kind of cellulose gasoline which is a second generation biofuel.


Bert Sels, Professor at KU Leuven, explained that they use a chemical technic to process plant waste, such as sawdust,produce a perfect duplicate of fossil gasoline. The carbon dating is the only technique that can detect the difference between the cellulose gasoline and fossil gasoline.


In their lab, researchers have built a chemical system for producing cellulose gasoline on a small scale. Aron Deneyer, a researcher at the lab, said: “Currently, the biggest challenge of the ready-to-use recipe for plant waste into gasoline is how to produce cellulose gasoline on a large scale.”


Source: Environmental News Network


https://www.enn.com/articles/55554-ready-to-use-recipe-for-turning-plant-waste-into-gasoline



8.Research forecasts US among top nations to suffer economic damage from climate change

Researchers find a new data set to measure the damage of carbon dioxide emissions for the globe's nearly 200 countries. Previous studies focused on how rich countries benefit from the fossil fuel economy, but the developing countries suffer from this model of the economy. The top three states, suffering from the adverse effect of the fossil fuel economy, are the United States, India, and Saudi Arabia. China China is the world's largest emitter of carbon dioxide, ranking in the top five countries with the highest costs.


The research shows, there is a paradox phenomenon in the climate change area. United States, India are the top two countries with the highest costs of the fossil fuel economy, which should play a significant role on global climate change area. However, the European Union(EU) takes a leading status in this area.


Deep understanding of the effect of climate change on economic that could promote the international cooperation in climate change issues. The author of this research summarized that many states do not realize the adverse effect of climate change on economic. Nevertheless, deep understanding of the climate change would encourage more countries to face the climate challenges together.


Source: phys.org

https://phys.org/news/2018-09-nations-economic-climate.html


9.Everything you've been told about plastic is wrong – the answer isn't recycling

Everything you've been told about plastic is wrong. We have been brainwashed. All of us believe that there is someone can recycle the plastics without any costs if we separate our plastic garbages. However, our environment has not been improved, but air pollution is worse than before through recycling plastics.


In fact, recycling is not an efficient way to solve plastic pollution. Plastics, which are different from glass, can not be recycled infinitely. Meanwhile, plastics are made from crude oil. The process of producing plastics release a lot of carbon dioxide, destroying the environment and damaging for the public health.


Governments need to consider how to stop producing plastics if the public wants to decrease the negative impacts of plastic pollution. For example, governments could ban single-use plastics or increase the tax on plastics.

Source: Independent

https://www.independent.co.uk/voices/plastic-waste-wish-recycling-bins-black-environment-green-shopping-a8548736.html



10.Liquid metal discovery to make toxic water safe and drinkable

Recently, scientists utilize liquid metal to produce a new water purifier for making toxic water safe and drinkable within several minutes.


This research finds that adding aluminum into the core of liquid gallium at room temperature could produce a layer of aluminum oxide at the surface of the gallium. Furthermore, the aluminum oxide nano-sheets are highly porous with a strong ability to filter heavy metal and oil contamination. Thus, we can use aluminum oxide nano-sheets to create a new water purifier. Meanwhile, the cost of the new water purifier is low, leading people to easily use this water purifier to turn toxic water into safe water.


Kalantar-zadeh, the professor at UNSW's School of Chemical Engineering, said: "We publish this new idea in public. People are free to use this idea to increase their lives quality. "


Source: Science daily

https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2018/09/180925140522.htm


©2017 The International Fund for China’s Environment All Rights Reserved.

2421 Pennsylvania Ave.NW Washington,DC 20037-1718 USA

TeL 202-822-2141 Email: ifce.adm@gmail.com